Of course I accept the awards!

Some time ago I was nominated for two blogging awards. I would like to thank the three bloggers who nominated me and pass on the awards to others. The first award I was nominated for was the Liebster Award. This is awarded to newer bloggers and in order to accept you need to thank the person who nominated you, answer their questions about yourself and nominate 15 other bloggers. It also involves linking back to their blog. I must confess that the reason I have not accepted the award is that I am not technology savvy enough to do that linking thing. I will list the bloggers who nominated me and hopefully this will direct you to their blogs to see just how great they are because they are really.

The first person to nominate me was kat@travelgardeneat.wordpress.com

I love visiting her blog for the pictures as well as the way she always makes me feel like she is taking me along with her on a hike or a trip or just her day. I also love that dog she has in every post. She nominated me in May of 2013, and I have finally gotten to thank her for the effort. Thanks Kat!!

I was also nominated for the same award in August of 2013 by Kay from www.flakesoflife.com

I enjoy visiting that site also as it has great photos and lots of neat information. Thanks so much for the nominations ladies!!

liebster-award-e1355858473421[1]

Now perhaps I am being a bit of a cheater here, but I can’t help it. I am going to wrap the two awards together and put out a limited number of those I nominate. Yes that is sort of cheap, but I kept trying to find more new bloggers to put up for the Liebster Award, and I find that I am following lots of people who have been around for longer than I have been. I guess that is part of my sit back and learn from the experts attitude. People who know me in person would likely say that is not me, but in terms of this sort of thing it is exactly me. So, I have 6, yes six bloggers to nominate for the Liebster Award.

Now why did I choose them? Lets just say that most of what I follow is gardening or crafting or sometimes inspirational. Some I ended up following because they found me and when I went back to check them out, I was super impressed by something on their blog. A few I found just fishing around WordPress and wanted to read and see more of what they are posting. At any rate, I recommend each and every one of these bloggers as well worth your time to check out. So here are my six Liebster Nominees:

1. The Belmont Rooster

2. Forestmtnhike

3. The Earth Mama

4. Garden

5. Stitching Grandma

6. Greenlightlady

So far a few links are fixed. I will keep working on this. Thanks to Forestmtnhike for the great information on how to.

Now, I was also nominated for another award. It was by Tracee from Heartmade. Her blog can be found at www.giftsfrommt.com

She nominated me for the Versatile blogger award on Sept. 6, 2013. I would love to thank her for the award, and to say I also enjoy her blog for many reasons including craftiness, innovation, fun to cruise through, etc…. Below the award symbol you will see a list of the bloggers that I have nominated for this award. I realize that my math does not total 15 on these awards, but such is life today. I have been contemplating this nomination/acceptance thing for too long, so I figure it is just time to do it.

Image

By the way, if any of these typed in links do not work, you can find all of these blogs by checking out the list of those I follow. I have nominated them because they are bloggers that I have learned from. A few are near the very bottom of my list because I have been following them from the very beginning. A couple are at the top because I have recently found them and sincerely enjoy all of what they are posting. I hope those of you who take the time to check them enjoy what you find as much as I have enjoyed them the past two plus years. Again, congrats to the nominees and here they are:

1. Kathy of Lake Superior Spirit at: www.upwoods.wordpress.com

2. www.booshy@wordpress.com

3. Sarah the Gardener at www.gardeningkiwi.wordpress.com

4. www.seasweetie.wordpress.com

5. Town and Country Gardening at www.survivalfarm.wordpress.com

6. www.gardenwalkgardentalk.com

7. www.stitchandpurl.wordpress.com

8. www.theinboxjaunt.com

9. It is not really about me at www.judikruis.wordpress.com

10. Jacki at www.mynortherncottageview.wordpress.com

11. www.fortpelhamfarm.com

12. Writing from Scotland at www.christinelaennec.co.uk

13. www.thegreendragonfly.wordpress.com

There you have all of the nominees. Now I will try to answer 10 little known things about my self, which is what I ask of the nominees as they accept these awards. Of course there is no pressure to accept and as some likely were nominated before and I am just too head-in-the-sand to realize that fact, well, carry on.

1. I was born and raised in South Dakota, but lived nearly 1/3 of my life in North Dakota. As much as I enjoyed seeing the ocean and the mountains, I will always love the buttes of the western Dakotas, and I can’t imagine ever living any place other than where I am now.

2. I have been married for over 30 years to the same man, who is likely the only person in the world to put up with all of my quirks. Even my children don’t care about me the way he does.

3. I was delighted that all of my children were daughters, but my grandson is the only person on this earth that I have ever shared a spoon with while eating ice cream.

4. I also live with three cats, but the animal deaths that affected me most in life were two dogs that I cherished at different times of my life journey.

5. The only two reality television shows that I enjoy are The Voice and Survivor. I watch The Voice because I really enjoy music. I watch Survivor as a reminder of the last television series that I shared with my mother.

6. I miss my mother everyday, but sadly I am happy to have quit smoking. Both of my parents had terrible addictions. My mother to cigarettes and my father to alcohol. Lately, I find myself addicted to writing.

7. I am working on my third time through of reading the Holy Bible cover to cover. This time, I am finding things in the gospels that I missed the first two times and I am sorely amazed by it.

8. I have never been part of a five generation picture. I was in a four generation picture once as the mother. Right now I would have to be the oldest of a three generation picture. I had two great aunts that lived past 90, I hope that God finds a purpose for me to live that long so maybe I can be in another four generation picture.

9. The best trip I ever took was to Washington, D.C. I hope to go back there some day for a very good reason.

10. I love reading, and watching things that go in a series. The author that inspired me the most is none other than South Dakota’s Laura Ingalls Wilder. I wish that I could write stories that are as easy to read and tell as much about my time as she did about hers. Someday I need to pick up the pen.

Now, sorry this has gone on so long. I have my work cut out for me letting all of these nominees what just happened to them. Hope you all have a very Blessed weekend.

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. zaczarowaneogrody
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:24:10

    As you know, I finally posted my acceptance. Thanks you again for your nomination.

    Like

    Reply

  2. gardeningkiwi
    Nov 27, 2013 @ 15:48:03

    Hi Lucinda. Firstly I want to say thank you for the nomination – I really appreciate it. I have been terribly remiss about accepting awards and have found I have received several – opps. Things have been a little difficult lately with illness and the ensuing backlog of things that didn’t get done while ill. I have received the versatile blog award before – ages ago, it is great how these things go around and connect bloggers. Unfortunately I think I have left this one a little too late.
    I have really enjoyed reading your blogs lately. It is a slice of normality during all my craziness. God bless you.
    Cheers Sarah : o )

    Like

    Reply

  3. The Earth Mama
    Nov 26, 2013 @ 15:08:22

    I know I’m super late; thank you for the nomination. Today I’m getting caught up in all my favorite blogs.

    Like

    Reply

  4. Garden Walk Garden Talk
    Oct 22, 2013 @ 07:30:58

    Thank you Lucinda for the nomination. I am so behind in reading blogs, well, more in commenting that I wanted to thank you. I also wanted to let you know in a comment on my farming post, I added your link to the pheasant post. They should hear from a real SD farmer.

    Like

    Reply

  5. stitchandpurl
    Oct 15, 2013 @ 16:09:26

    Thank you so much for the nomination!
    It’s lovely to read these little snippets about you as well!

    Like

    Reply

  6. Kat at travelgardeneat
    Oct 12, 2013 @ 17:56:33

    Laura Ingalls Wilder’s writings are timeless, aren’t they? Perhaps those of us who have grown up in those Plains states appreciate them even more so. Congrats and thanks for sharing more insights about you!

    Like

    Reply

  7. My Northern Cottage View
    Oct 11, 2013 @ 14:54:07

    Thank you so much for the nomination, Lucinda! And I, too, loved reading your answers. Blessings from Alaska, Jackie
    ‘May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in Him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” -Romans 15:13

    Like

    Reply

  8. Kathy
    Oct 11, 2013 @ 12:48:57

    First, congratulations on all of your awards, Lucinda. I smiled when you said that you are addicted to writing. Kinda know just what you mean… Also enjoyed reading all the *facts* about you. That is the main reason I sometimes like reading about these awards. You learn all sorts of new things that you’ve never quite put together in one setting. Finally, thanks for nominating Lake Superior Spirit. I love that you put me under the Versatile Blogging Award. Yep, that’s me. However, probably will not continue to play on. Thank you again!

    Like

    Reply

  9. greenlightlady
    Oct 11, 2013 @ 11:57:31

    Lucinda, your #3 answer made me smile, and #7 I can really relate to. I love finding new things that I had missed as I reread the Good Book each time.

    Blessings ~ Wendy

    Like

    Reply

  10. The Belmont Rooster
    Oct 10, 2013 @ 19:40:37

    Congradulations and I hope you get accepted. You have an awesome blog. Thanks for the nomination as well. I have been nominated for three awards now, and I haven’t followed up on the other two either. SO, I’ll make you a deal. When I get a new mouse so I can use the iMac, I’ll give it a shot. I am not blogging for the awards, and there are SO many more deserving bloggers than me.

    Like

    Reply

  11. forestmtnhike
    Oct 10, 2013 @ 19:34:14

    Hi Lucinda, thank you so much for the nomination!! Wow, it’s so special of you to think of my blog worthy of one. Thanks again tons!!
    On another note: Have you received any help about the link? If you go on to your dash board and bring up this post through the dashboard, you can highlight a blog title for example: thebellmontrooster, and then click on the icon that looks like a paper clip. Then go over to the blogs (like Lonnie’s blog) and highlight his web address (ex: http://www.thebellmontrooster.com) and click copy paste. Then, back on your dashboard where you have the URL box up, paste the bellmontroosters website address on there, then check the little box that says “open link to a new window/tab”, and then you can write in a title for example: The Bellmont Rooster (sorry Lonnie, for using you as an example but your blog was the first Lucina listed so I thought to start with yours) and then click the blue Add Link icon on the bottom right and all should be working properly. I hope this info helps.

    Thanks again!! I’m glad to hear your husband and everyone else is doing good. How is Sophia doing? I hope she’s pulling through too. Blessings to you all!!

    Like

    Reply

    • lucindalines
      Oct 11, 2013 @ 17:15:02

      Thank you so much for this help. I actually missed your comment in my confusion, but my aunt directed me there. I will have to go in and edit and hopefully I can follow these directions. I am a bit technologically challenged. Paulina is home tonight so maybe a little help. Ha! Also everyone even Sophia is doing fine, thanks for asking. Blessings to you and yours!!

      Like

      Reply

  12. lucindalines
    Oct 10, 2013 @ 19:01:46

    Help, none of the links work. How can I be so technologically challenged. If anyone knows how I should fix this, speak now!! HELP!!

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

