The knee is on the mend

I haven’t mentioned it before, or maybe I have and just forgot that I did, but today we were in Bismarck, and it wasn’t a shopping trip. James had an operation on the other meniscus of his right knee. I am not always so mushy or wifely at these things. He was supposed to be there at 10 a.m., so when we showed up at 9:30, I decided to leave and take care of the shopping things right away. It wasn’t much. I needed coffee filters and he needed crackers. Together it was time for toothpaste and a few other incidentals. As I was in the store and the display was so great, I picked up some baking supplies including chocolate chips and cup cake papers and oh yes, I purse that I will probably take back at the next trip because I don’t like how it closes.

Shortly after I got back to the surgical place, Victoria and Jaxon showed up. He was great today. He was happy to see my Gardetto’s and Dum Dum suckers. There was no way I was sitting through a surgery on a family member without snacks. He was hilarious when he tried to take a drink at the water fountain. He ended up with water all over his face. It was funny, but I did help him out with a cup. Later, he was unhappy with the computer game that he was playing, but he convinced me to play with him then laughed when I lost (unlike the reaction when he lost.)

James coming out of the surgical center.

James coming out of the surgical center.

In the van with Paulina adjusting blankets.

In the van with Paulina adjusting blankets.

We expected James to be finished about 1 p.m., which was pretty much how it went. After Paulina pulled up the van and did some arranging, we managed to figure out how James should sit in the seat right behind the driver and hang the “butchered” leg on the other seat. She really has a way of figuring those things. She had the blanket behind him and the pillows in place for Victoria to adjust. Good thing it was their dad, seems they can get it figured out for him better than anything. Not only would the mother be left hanging, but any poor husband would probably have to drive himself home. Ha!

Anyway, everyone has survived and after tomorrow at home, James plans to be back at school on Thursday. Interesting how we don’t take time off around here. The year I broke my leg on Saturday, had a major surgery on it, got out of the hospital on Sunday, I was in school on Monday. Yikes!!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathy
    Oct 12, 2013 @ 14:05:53

    Hope he is doing well. After my husband had two knee scopes and then two total knee replacements–can kind of understand a bit of what he went through.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Glenda
    Oct 09, 2013 @ 16:25:14

    If he’s having a hard time getting up the stairs, I think he “kneeds” to stay home another day!!!

    Like

    Reply

  3. Glenda
    Oct 09, 2013 @ 08:40:28

    Thank the good Lord everything turned out so well! Knowing James, who does not sit still for 2 minutes, he’ll be jogging at 5 a.m. tomorrow!! God bless and heal up!!

    Like

    Reply

    • lucindalines
      Oct 09, 2013 @ 10:00:19

      Yea, he did get a rude awakening when he tried to go up the steps to bed last night. Neither of us can remember what we did the last time, oh yes I can, we had a better couch for sleeping on. This one is way out of possible for a comfortable sleep. Tonight he has to get up the steps because he needs to shower for the morning. Yikes!

      Like

      Reply

  4. forestmtnhike
    Oct 08, 2013 @ 18:31:07

    Oh poor James. Lucinda, tell him to take it easy. Though it was a minor surgery, they did cut through flesh, and muscle to clean out his knee. I say take a couple of days off work and go back on Monday. I hope all is well. I’ll be keeping you all in my prayers. May the Lord be your supply during this time, and may He give your husband a safe and thorough recovery. Hugs your way!

    Like

    Reply

    • lucindalines
      Oct 08, 2013 @ 19:17:40

      Thanks so much. I will pass on your comments, but there is a football game on Thursday and some coaches can’t sit at home. I plan to be there on Thursday and Friday and will have chair and pillow and pills and his para professional aides will have his back. I threatened him with my mother’s fancy walker if he doesn’t behalf.

      Like

      Reply

      • forestmtnhike
        Oct 10, 2013 @ 19:41:34

        Aww…that’s good to hear. I’m glad all is well. It will take time but it’ll heal. Hugs your way! By the way, how is all going with cattle crises out in South Dakota? My prayers are truly going out to all the farmers out there.

        Like

        Reply

        • lucindalines
          Oct 10, 2013 @ 21:43:01

          Most of the cattle thing is in the western part of the state where the ranchers typically let their cattle graze most of the winter. There are more natural shelters there. We have heard of one rancher, who says he was fortunate enough to have all survive. It is sad, but part of what happens when there is super bad weather out here.

          Like

          Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

