Cold weather in early October

Of all the dumb things to do, I took the camera along with me on Friday when I had to substitute, and I did NOT take pictures of the snow. I probably could pull up an old picture from last year because it looked pretty much the same. The only thing is this was rain then sleet then snow, and by the time we left school it was all a slushy mess because it was raining again. It just isn’t cold enough at this time of year to sustain snow for very long.

The real treat was when we got to Herreid. I don’t think that we had the intense winds in Linton that there were in Herreid. Ironically, I had been talking to one of the teachers yesterday who said she always worries so about the trees on a day when there is that heavy wet snow and lots of wind. Well she predicted it for us. When we came home there were pieces of the willow tree all over the yard. It was too wet and dark to go out and really assess the damage, so maybe today if it ever lets up. At least now it is straight rain, and not so intense, but the wind is just relentless.

The yard view from the porch.

The yard view from the porch.

The tree seems to have fewer branches.

The tree seems to have fewer branches.

The concrete gives an idea of the wetness of it all.

The concrete gives an idea of the wetness of it all.

We checked on the garden. The only thing we could do was take in the pumpkins. We were afraid to leave them if there were more snow. Well that didn’t happen, but they are in the house. I am afraid they won’t make Halloween, and this was the smallest crop of pumpkins ever.

Pumpkins safely in the garage.

Pumpkins safely in the garage.

Before James and I could go inside and make supper and dry off, we had to go to my mother’s place to make sure it was ready for guests. Well wouldn’t you know, we ended up there for an hour. There was water all over the table and the floor in the kitchen. At first we thought it was part of the shingling job my brother did this summer. Later we were not convinced. The leak was under the bedroom where the air conditioner was still in the window. We ended up taking out the three window air conditioners. The windows are hard to open, and we were so worried about the dang things falling out, should have had a third person there to help. (Kathy was there for the last one and that worked really well.)

Anyway, I ended up with a blood blister in my forearm when James jerked on the kitchen unit while I had my arm between it and the window trying to grab the outside so it couldn’t fall. He heard the scream. It took a bit to mop everything up and towel out the carpet. It was from the unit in the north window that we figured the water leaked under the trim board and into the dining room. As James pulled that one inside it gushed water. We ended up putting it into the big tub to let it drain. I imagine we will have to put it away tonight.

On the way into the house, I took a couple of shots of the largest sunflower. She looked pretty soggy and somewhat sad. I feel bad for her. The neighbors flowers all seem like they were hit be frost, mine must be sheltered by the old shed. Anyway since I left the power cord in school, this will be the last time I can stop by the blog until Kathy brings it after the volleyball match, or Monday if for some reason she gets distracted and forgets or can’t find it.

Soggy sunflower

Soggy sunflower

Sunflower is hanging in there.

Sunflower is hanging in there.

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

