Bird watching plus

Turkey vultures in the trees.

Turkey vultures in the trees.

So my after the shut down day didn’t change anything that I could see. I was still doing tomatoes and still washing dishes. The big thing that was different today was Sophia. She came in last night with a squishy bump on her head. When I went to check her out, I popped an abscess on her head. It was gross and the smell was worse. The only thing I could think of was hydrogen peroxide. With James’ help, I doctored her up the best I could. This morning I called the vet, and got his assistant. She said it sounds like mites got under her skin. She said to keep up the peroxide and some salve and if it isn’t improving bring her in on Thursday. I wish I could take her tomorrow, but the vet is out-of-town for something. Hopefully she is ok in the meantime.

A sick Sophia

A sick Sophia

Now, back up to yesterday morning then I will finish off with what we saw from the window as we were putting supper together. Yesterday morning, I realized what Russian Olive trees are good for. They are great for feeding the little birds at this time of the year. Also caught a squirrel in the tree, but couldn’t get a real picture, just this one through the window. This morning I finally caught the crazy pheasant in the corn-stalk pile. The prize was the turkey vultures we saw tonight. If you click on one of the pictures and pull it in larger, you can see that there is a tag on one of the birds.

Birds in the Russian Olives

Birds in the Russian Olives

Squirrel through the window.

Squirrel through the window.

Pheasant in the corn stalks.

Pheasant in the corn stalks.

Pheasant on the run.

Pheasant on the run.

Over the hill.

Over the hill.

Four Turkey Vultures sitting in a tree.

Four Turkey Vultures sitting in a tree.

Now there are five turkey vultures.

Now there are five turkey vultures.

This is all I have. Hope you are having a good day and that the government shut down isn’t hurting too much. I keep telling my family that is why I have the garden and such. Now to get the cat healthy.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. forestmtnhike
    Oct 01, 2013 @ 23:15:33

    Awww…poor Sophia. I hope she pulls through just fine. I said a prayer for her. You’re brave for popping that bump. How did you know it was an abscess? I would have been clueless as to what the bump was and wouldn’t know what to do but seek the vet. I think it’s great that you know how to handle situations like that while keeping your calm. Hope she’s well. Please keep us updated. Hugs.

    Like

    Reply

    • lucindalines
      Oct 02, 2013 @ 08:41:36

      Thanks for the prayer for Sophia. I grew up on a farm and have had nearly 30 cats in my life time so I have seen all sorts of things in the past. I come from a family that freaks out over the littlest things, like the salt and pepper being in the wrong cupboard, but when there is something major we have a different sense that kicks in. Weird, but that is just how we are. I will keep you posted going to the vet tomorrow just to be sure.

      Like

      Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

