Sunrise, Sept. 30, 2013

I took the following pictures from my back door as the sun was rising. I missed the lovely pinks and purples with the camera, but I enjoyed them very much from my bedroom window before I grabbed Paulina’s camera. The sun seems to be climbing up the trunk of one of the trees behind the dike right now. It is so still and cool outside that it reminds me of summer camp at Lake Metigoshe. The birds are chatting and there is a gentle breeze that is playing the leaves like they are a tambourine in an old folk song.

The nicest thing about this morning in the Dakotas is that by looking out the window, you can forget the crazy, selfish, nonsense on the political news stories. If I had the time today, I would call each and everyone in the Congress and tell them all to get over the theatrics, grow up and get to work like real people. I don’t have that kind of time or energy, and it is because we are too busy to give them a piece of our minds, that is why they get by with this childish behavior time after time. No, we people in the heartland of the country are way too busy getting out of bed, early, getting to work taking care of the land and raising a good part of the food that feeds the “fat-cats” that sit in the “high” places making all the rules. We bust ours, so we can kick yours is a favorite saying on sports t-shirts when schools allow this “inappropriate saying. I would like to share how, we bust ours to feed yours, with those politicians sometime.

I wonder just how many of the cuff linked, manicured nailed (and I mean the men here) legislators have put on boots and walked through a barn to the pasture to check on a new-born calf that becomes their fancy steak dinner purchased by the lobbyist who is against the health care law. All while they are hoping the calf lives so that the profit margin is high enough to keep up with the expenses and pay for the medicine for the little girl in the house with cancer.

I wonder how many of the legislatures have taken time to keep up a garden so that they have fresh produce to feed the family and give some away and even sell some of it to put away a little cash to help with the seeds for next year and the watering and the fertilizer and all you need to stay away from the cans of vegetables with the additives, or the store produce that is shipped in from a foreign country.

If it wouldn’t be so far from here, I would love to take each of them a fresh present to let them know what they are up to today with their big drama about shutting down the country. I would bring each of them a nice warm steaming fresh pile of dung from the father of that new-born calf. Because that is what I think of all their antics this past week.

Now, I would sincerely like to apologize for the way I was carried away this morning. It was just one of those times when my feelings took over and it had to come out. All I can say is I guess it is what it is. Here are my pictures that were supposed to be this quiet and happy little post. Hope you all have a great day from the new edge of the cliff. I plan to keep both feet on the ground and my hands on the tomatoes today.

South east sky at sunrise 9/30/13.

South east sky at sunrise 9/30/13.

Sunrise through the trees.

Sunrise through the trees.

The north boundary at my mom's.

The north boundary at my mom’s.

Birds congregating at sunrise.

Birds congregating at sunrise.

The garden has been stripped out a little more, potatoes were dug yesterday.

The garden has been stripped out a little more, potatoes were dug yesterday.

More sunrise through the trees.

More sunrise through the trees.

Smoke plume in the distance, road construction should end in a few days.

Smoke plume in the distance, road construction should end in a few days.

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

