Busy weekend

This was a busy weekend for several reasons. The major issue was spending Saturday with the Grandson. I wish that I would be smart enough to carry the video camera around with us. Jaxon’s run to Grandpa was the best ever. The picture in my head is of a child running so fast his legs look like they are going to go flying off his body into the trees. It was the greatest. He jumped right at James. I think the last time they saw each other was when we went to the zoo for James’ birthday.

We let them have time alone to catch up. Jaxon took Grandpa on a tour of the yard and even showed him around the house a little. They took a bike ride and at one point Jaxon insisted they stop and do some digging. He went right at the dirt with his bare hands, and James said in no time he had a worm then asked what to do with it. They carried it over to the flower garden and dropped it in. He also told Grandpa that they were not to go past a certain line where the creek runs and they were not allowed to mess with the things by one of the trees. Jaxon first said they couldn’t mess with the marshmallows, but asked his dad what those were again, and then corrected himself to say mushrooms. It was for sure worth the trip.

Biscuit and Audrey were excited to see us too.

Biscuit and Audrey were excited to see us too.

Victoria is a Halloween freak. Jaxon prefers zombies, so the door has a zombie.

Victoria is a Halloween freak. Jaxon prefers zombies, so the door has a zombie.

Little flowers in bloom on the north side of the house.

Little flowers in bloom on the north side of the house.

I couldn't get a "normal" good-bye wave, Jaxon kept doing a zombie thing.

I couldn’t get a “normal” good-bye wave, Jaxon kept doing a zombie thing.

Victoria couldn't quite laughing at him. Just like Grandpa Albertus when the kids were naughty.

Victoria couldn’t quite laughing at him. Just like Grandpa Albertus when the kids were naughty.

Today wasn’t quite as much fun as yesterday, but it feels good to have done what we did. I did up all the tomatoes that I could. I drained off the running stuff and made 4 quarts of juice and boiled the rest down to freeze up some paste in cupcake tins. While I was blanching, James dug up all the potatoes left in the garden. As the tomatoes cooled, I finished up the laundry. While I peeled the tomatoes and blended and strained them, James sorted out all of the other tomatoes. He moved everything onto one table and cleaned off the extra table and laundry room counter. Now we just have those on the large dining room table and about 3/4 of a table full in the car shed. Yipee ha ha.

While the paste was simmering, we made taco soup for supper. Earlier I made a batch of home made bread. I had to run it through the machine twice since I forgot the yeast the first time. It actually turned out fine. It just took quite a bit longer to make. We served the soup and bread along with chips and dip, some baked potatoes and a white cake. I was going to let the bread rise on the oven while the bread baked, but it didn’t quite work out that way.

Glenda brought macaroni salad, and Kathy brought two kinds of apple bars. Good stuff! She is into apples like I am into tomatoes. Maybe I will have to pick apples at my mother’s tree soon. I thought Adie would do that then I found out she now has her own tree that is producing. Adie and Steve came for supper later after picking up Annabell (their foreign exchange student) from Selby. Paulina left for college and  Kathy and Glenda were gone by the time they got here, but it was all good. Thankfully that soup is nearly gone. I love making that sort of thing, but don’t like to have to eat it for six days in a row.

Not much else to share. As Scarlet said at the end of Gone with the Wind, “Tomorrow is another day.” Hopefully, I will be able to put a few more of the tomatoes to rest tomorrow.

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

