Autumn mists

Sunrise on Tuesday, Sept. 24, 2013

Sunrise on Tuesday, Sept. 24, 2013

This morning I rode with James to Linton. I substituted for the high school math teacher then rode back home after school with my sister Kathy. I am an English major, so I had the most fun first hour (math teacher has preparation time) with the door open and eavesdropping on the English class where they were reading the play, 12 Angry Men. Oh how I used to love doing that play in Montpelier. The series we used there had lots of good plays including: Our Town, Medea, 12 Angry Men, The Glass Menagerie, The Romancers and of course the standard Shakespeare fair of Romeo and Juliet, Julius Caesar and Hamlet. Anyway, those were the days.

Today was not so much about words. It was all about numbers. I am a good help in Algebra I and Consumer Math, but not so much with Algebra II or the Trigonometry stuff. I can sort of kind of point the direction in geometry, but don’t bother me with that slope stuff, although it is starting to make sense the more I look at it. I am just happy that there are no more children in my house who need help with that sort of thing. Besides, I think that they have changed what you learn in each class. We were not expected to do problems as advanced as they do now, even in Algebra I.

I am trying to decide if I am getting old or just practical. One of the things I found myself asking a student in Consumer Math as he was trying to figure out area is, “Do you do carpentry work ever?” Answer was yes, so I told him that area is like putting tile into a room. You need to know the number of tiles to purchase. Perhaps if we taught these classes as a job skill, like you are building a house. How much lumber do you need for this size? How many outlets do you need if you put them every six feet? How much carpet should you purchase? How much hardwood flooring? On and on and on.

What I really liked about the trig class is the way they helped each other figure out how to set up the formulas. I know some teachers don’t like it when students work together, but to me there is a big difference between working together figuring things out and just plain old copy catting. I base my theory on what you do in the work place. If you don’t work together and help each other and problem solve together the company is the one that suffers. At least that is my theory.

I will leave you with two more pictures of this morning. Notice how I have been staying away from the canning and garden as topics. I just have had about all I can stand of most of it right now, and yet I know that tomorrow and Thursday I will be chained to the stove and the sink again. Talking about it today, though, Michelle gave me a hint to add the flour to the tomato soup before I heat it. Yikes I don’t know what ailed me. I used to be able to get that so good, and this year I have lost my touch, now I know the problem, also I need to replace that burned out hand mixer. I used to mix it right in the pot instead of like gravy. So enough for now, have a good one.

Some mist from the van window.

Some mist from the van window.

Mist outside of Linton on the way to school.

Mist outside of Linton on the way to school.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Glenda
    Sep 24, 2013 @ 14:53:40

    You might have to sub again tomorrow so don’t count on being in front of that stove.

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

