Welcome Autumn

Today was a beautiful beginning of fall. It was cool enough this morning to wear my fall sweater to church, but turned warm enough later in the day to put on shorts. My aunt said the internet showed 90 degrees here this afternoon. As I was putting away some of the pool items, I wished I could dip in, but new the water was likely pretty cold from the cool of the evenings. It would have been nicer except for the wind. We have been experiencing some fairly strong south winds the past couple of days. Add to that the smell today. It seems someone has cleaned out a feedlot or some big barn and we happen to be down wind right now. I guess that is the trade-off for living in the country or the near country.

Not much else to report except a short tomato update. When Paulina headed back to college today, we set up a fourth table in the garage where her car goes. We filled it. The good news is that there are no pails left and no plants left to fill the pails. Yesterday, with Paulina’s help as well as some from James, we managed to can 7 quarts of spaghetti sauce with two quarts left over to put in the bowl for lasagna today. We also put up 5 quarts and 3 pints of salsa. It was a long day. I was glad to take off today. In fact, I was looking forward to sitting on the deck after church, but with the heat, the wind and the smell, well maybe tomorrow.

One thing about the cool evenings of fall, it might just get me more into the mood for knitting or even sewing or some of the warmer sort of crafty things…Oh but summer you were so fun. I will miss you. I guess only three seasons to go. Oh ya, just a little reminder of what summer was like this year.

Sunset!

Sunset!

Holly hocks are still pretty.

Holly hocks are still pretty.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Glenda
    Sep 24, 2013 @ 12:36:39

    Autumn is my least favorite season. Everything dies, birds fly south, no more robins, no fresh garden stuff, no more swimming…oh I could go on and on. I can’t even find beauty in the colors because I know what’s right around the corner!!!

    Like

    Reply

  2. forestmtnhike
    Sep 23, 2013 @ 23:01:48

    I agree with you on the sewing and crafty things (I don’t know how to knit but I would love to learn someday). Autumn is one of my favorite seasons of the year. It’s hot chocolate, soups, pies, and getting cuddly under an afghan on the couch reading a good book kind of season!:)

    Like

    Reply

    • lucindalines
      Sep 24, 2013 @ 08:26:14

      Oh how tree. I like that blanket to be on my swing on my open porch. Come to think of it, I haven’t had time to spend a single Sunday there this year. Maybe this fall.

      Like

      Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

