Rainy day

IMG_9876

The rain tub is full again.

The rain tub is full again.

The fall flower garden

The fall flower garden

We had rain again last night. For us the rain has been just right. One of the local tv channels has a weather man who keeps calling it a Goldilocks day, not too hot and not too cold. I would like to tell him that is more of a Little Bear day, but I think the Goldilocks thing might just sound better.

We had enough rain last night to fill the tub under the down spout. We should set up a couple more, but so far haven’t gotten that far. It is supposed to hit 80 degrees F today, but I doubt that it will get that high. I should do up another batch of tomatoes, but I just can’t get motivated. Seems to be my thing. Work like crazy one day and lay around the next. Yikes starting to sound like the way my father operated.

I went outside and took a few pictures of what things look like today. I should go pick the apples from the tree in my mother’s yard, but haven’t cleared that with any of the sisters. Of course I could pick and they could take. It would be better than trying to clean up the mess that is starting to pile up on the ground around the tree. I could also go to the garden to pick more peppers, but I will stay out of there until the mud dries up a little.

The apple tree. I think it is time to think of planting two new ones.

The apple tree. I think it is time to think of planting two new ones.

I do have a batch of bread going so that I can take a large loaf to Victoria and a baby loaf to Jaxon. He is getting a jar of the plum jelly that Paulina and I made on Sunday. I don’t remember if I blogged about that day, but we did 11 pints of plum jelly, and several quarts of whole tomatoes and spaghetti that day. I don’t remember the exact number, what I do remember is we worked way to hard for a Sunday when you should be taking a day of rest.

Plums before canning.

Plums before canning.

James and I had a discussion about that rest thing, and I explained my mother’s version of that rule. In her family the rule was work when the harvest is ready, and rest extra when there is time. I realize that the whole purpose of the rest on Sunday is to refresh you for the week to come. My body feels it, but … well it is what it is. Ah ha, I see the dough is rising in the pan, and I can pop it into the oven and finish the packing for when we meet in Bismarck today. Yipee going to the ….

Oh yes, the extra photos…in my yard tour this morning, I was pleasantly surprised to see the sunflowers in bloom. I love these shots so much, I am not sure that I want to paint this shed. But I will, I will, for the wedding…
IMG_9871

IMG_9872

IMG_9873

IMG_9874

IMG_9875

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. forestmtnhike
    Sep 18, 2013 @ 15:52:08

    Lucinda, i love the pictures of your sunflowers against the shed, especially that first picture. The shed looks like a canvas painting in back of the sunflower- absolutely beautiful and cool looking. It would look nice in a portrait with a verse typed on it.:) Thanks for sharing about your day and taking pictures of your garden and yard in the rain. It looks really nice out there. It’s been about 78 degrees here and we’ve been having some nice weather but I can’t wait until it begins to rain. I love rainy days and snow. Wish I lived farther up north. Have a blessed trip to Bismark!

    Like

    Reply

    • lucindalines
      Sep 18, 2013 @ 23:09:04

      Thanks so much for the nice comments. I am thinking that the last picture is one I want to print in a fairly large size and frame. My nephew is getting married near that shed next year and sunflowers are the bride’s flower. I planted those this year just to see how it would look. Wish we could get some in there by early June, but we will have to see what can be done in pots in April and May. Oh never mind, it is the very first one that I want to print, I had forgotten that I moved them around after I first posted.

      Like

      Reply

  2. Trackback: Rain, You are so Lame | People and Hearts
  3. Glenda
    Sep 18, 2013 @ 12:35:00

    I love the sunflowers on the shed!! The one picture looks like a painting of them on the garage!! Maybe, instead of painting the whole thing white, you need to make a mural of flowers on it!!

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

