Sept. 10, 2013

Sophia and Roger enjoying the morning in the flowers.

Sophia and Roger enjoying the morning in the flowers.

Today I decided to insert the pictures first then write around them, we shall see how that all works out. The pictures you see are from this morning. I took the camera along as I did a walk around the yard. Being gone yesterday, and with the rain of the past few days, I wanted to see what was going on outside. Here is what I found on the north of the house in the shaded garden, only one hosta left standing. I am hoping that the others will show up next spring, but who knows the heat may have done them in for good.

One hosta still growing.

One hosta still growing.

The marigolds that I planted way late in the summer are just starting to bloom. I will have to plant them earlier next summer as this seems to be a good spot to put them. All of my early gardening lists have a note about fixing up this shaded garden with better dirt and a border for that pea rock business. I see that didn’t happen again this year. I need to think of something creative to use for that border as I just won’t spend the money to put in one of those plastic things, besides I won’t want to spend the labor to get them in, and I really don’t like how they look. I may be looking for some thing more creative and a recycled product.

Marigolds finally starting to bloom.

Marigolds finally starting to bloom.

The mum is nearly blooming.

The mum is nearly blooming.

That poor mum used to have a partner, but the first winter did it in. I need to remember to water it better. The rain of this weekend really helped it. Speaking of rain, the next few pictures give you an idea of how it pooled up in this area. We had a light dusting of grass clippings in this area, and when it rained they all formed a ridge. There were also pools of water in this old pool liner. We haven’t thrown that thing away because Paulina is convinced we can turn it into a slipping toy next summer. I have to figure out where to store it over the winter so it doesn’t become a mouse house or a stray cat litter box.

Ridge of grass from the rain.

Ridge of grass from the rain.

Water pooled in the old pool liner.

Water pooled in the old pool liner.

Imagine my surprise when I walked around the garden and saw the mound below. We have moles or voles, I am not sure which, but it is starting to irritate me. They were on my mother’s front lawn when we moved here in 1999. They sort of moved around, and at one time were in her back yard. We learned that they like longer grass because they eat bugs that live in long grass so we started cutting the grass shorter, and they seemed to disappear. I wonder who had them last year, but this summer they decided to move into and around our garden. Yikes!! Last summer Sophia actually caught a few, but this year she doesn’t seem to have the touch any more.

More varmint piles.

More varmint piles.

The cucumbers are still growing.

The cucumbers are still growing.

The calla lilies are really dead.

The calla lilies are really dead.

I don’t even want to talk about that last picture. I might just have to replace that plant. I had one for a few years after my dad’s funeral, and this one was from my mother’s. Maybe it is best just to live without one for a time. On the other hand, maybe I should buy one that isn’t a funeral plant. I think that maybe the plan later this fall. Right now I have enough to do. We picked tomatoes again tonight. I currently have four 3 gallon pails full in my dining room. They are not the issue. The issue is the full-of-tomatoes dining room table and the laundry room counter, which is the size of the kitchen counter I had last year. I also need to go back to the garden and finish picking, but I ran out of space and pails. Add to that the fact that I canned 11 quarts of spaghetti sauce today.

HELP!!

Boy would it be nice to have a daughter or two around for a couple of days. On the other hand, it would be nice to have some more jars. I might just be accepting the offer from my aunt. I could always go to my mother’s basement, count the total of jars there and take 1/5, but I really don’t have time to deal with the cleaning that would entail. Maybe I will just have to bite the bullet and purchase some. Oh well, it is getting late and I want to get this posted.

Anyway, hope you are all having fun with the harvest and the canning and just enjoying the fruits of summer, or for those of you in the southern hemisphere, happy planting!! Take care!!

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

