2 years done; Year 3 begun!

Sun rising over the dike on the Tuesday after Labor Day 2013.

Sun rising over the dike on the Tuesday after Labor Day 2013.

Today is the second anniversary of my blog. I realize that I am nowhere near the amount of followers or likes or even views that most of you out there have, but I am pretty happy with my followers, followings and comments as of late. Yesterday I sat down with the old-fashioned paper and pen and put a few ideas together both for blog posts and for other writings. I also did up a list of what I need to get accomplished around here, and I am finding the writing is going to drop to the middle or bottom of the list for a bit. If you are wondering about the list, I will give you a peak.

The LIST!

The LIST!

I love lists! I actually have another one, not quite as long, of crafty things that I should be working on at this time, but really, I am so zoned out after a day of canning or substitute teaching that I can’t think of the crafty stuff quite yet. That will have to wait until the snow flies, which someone told me yesterday could be right around the corner. Apparently the Farmers’ Almanac has a storm predicted for October 1. I hope that is all a weird prediction, but who knows. I usually think of snow as a Halloween event. We will have to wait and watch as Sophia is doing in the picture below.

Sophia watching for trouble.

Sophia watching for trouble.

Right now the table looks like this….

The tomatoes set out to ripen. There are two more pails in the basement and lots more to pick.

The tomatoes set out to ripen. There are two more pails in the basement and lots more to pick.


I have more to bring up from the basement and more to pick. We ran out of pails and energy, mostly energy last night, plus it was getting dark, so we stopped picking and went inside to do a few more things before going to bed. I was so tired yesterday that I was bleary eyed most of the day. Actually my eyes hurt until I put drops in them. I don’t know if it was too much computer screen or just tired. Perhaps the weekend was just more than I can handle at this old age. Ha! Maybe I need to get out and really exercise more. I also had a pretty intense Monday.

On Monday, I canned 6 quarts of pickled beets, 4 quarts of whole tomatoes and 10 quarts of spaghetti sauce. It was insane as I was doing it all at the same time. I was also working to get finished in time to make a 5 p.m. volleyball match in Eureka to watch niece Elisabeth play, and she was in the 6 p.m. game. Oh well, I had time for a bag of popcorn. I have some shots of that marathon, but I didn’t take all of the steps, so I am saving them for a blog about how I do all this canning stuff. Hopefully, I will remember to do that before next May.

As always, I will leave you with a random picture. This is what Melissa and my aunt Glenda found in that small couch when they carried it back into the house after the movie night. I didn’t even know we were missing those items. The remote must have been in there for years. Melissa was wondering which sister got the blame from my mother for losing it. Ha!!

Items found in the couch.

Items found in the couch.

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. greenlightlady
    Sep 07, 2013 @ 00:17:57

    Happy 2nd blog anniversary! I love finding treasures in the sofa. Usually they are items that bring back family memories. πŸ™‚

    Blessings ~ Wendy

    Like

    Reply

  2. giftsfrommt
    Sep 06, 2013 @ 09:21:56

    Congrats on 2 years!! I have a ways to go, I’ve only been doing this 2 months πŸ™‚

    Like

    Reply

  3. The Belmont Rooster
    Sep 05, 2013 @ 22:33:21

    Congratulations!

    Like

    Reply

  4. forestmtnhike
    Sep 05, 2013 @ 17:47:39

    Congratulations on your third year Lucinda!!:)

    Like

    Reply

  5. Forest So Green
    Sep 05, 2013 @ 14:25:11

    Congratulations on your blog birthday πŸ™‚ Annie

    Like

    Reply

  6. Glenda
    Sep 05, 2013 @ 13:35:54

    You forgot the 3 pieces of crackers we found in the couch!! Congratulations on your 2 years of blogging. May you continue for many more years to come!

    Like

    Reply

    • lucindalines
      Sep 05, 2013 @ 14:19:11

      Ok, so the crackers ended up in the grass for the ants. There is still something in there, I could hear it when we set it down, but I don’t have the energy to look for it right now.

      Like

      Reply

  7. 45spin
    Sep 05, 2013 @ 12:35:13

    Happy Two Years !

    Like

    Reply

  8. jesshaak
    Sep 05, 2013 @ 10:08:18

    You got the spoon out! I need to bring you the jars home so you can take care of those tomatoes, maybe I will come down for a Sat. or Sunday and learn how to do it myself πŸ™‚

    Like

    Reply

    • lucindalines
      Sep 05, 2013 @ 10:10:31

      Would love to have you, and let me know how many jars you have, we are getting close to needing some. Dad pulled up the last three dozen last night. As you can see, I did up 18 jars on Monday, so this could go fast.

      Like

      Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

