Last Saturday of the summer, technically, well sort of

Today is Aug. 31 and the Saturday before Labor Day. Most of us think of it as the last Saturday of the summer, but if you want to be real technical, you would go to the Saturday before the change from summer to autumn. So, I don’t have much time to post this. I grabbed a few minutes while James and Paulina are eating fresh corn on the cob and watching some sports thing on television. Seriously, I get so tired of it, I would love to eliminate ESPN from our line up, but then James would probably take away my Hallmark and HGTV and my soaps, so good thing we have more than one hook up.

This break is actually to rest my feet before Paulina and I start on the salsa and whatever else we decide to do with the table full of ripe tomatoes. Sadly, I am not sure our efforts will completely clear the table since there are two more full buckets from what we picked this morning. We have to get all of the tomatoes off the vine as soon as possible. This morning I found that not only are there marks on some tomatoes, but the ones that have been out too long have some sort of bug eating into it.

I didn’t want to talk this much about the garden, so I will move on the my main motive for the day. We have been cleaning the house for the picnic tomorrow. I am so so so happy to have a big chunk of the clutter out of my bedroom. I can walk from one end to the other without tripping or bumping into something, so great. The other room we really tidied up, thanks to James, is the big bedroom that used to be Jessica’s. It isn’t the greatest set up, but I am sort of hoping that the pictures posted will let both Jess and Victoria realize that coming home won’t be quite as horrible as it used to be when the only bed was in the basement.

Guest/daughter room from the door.

Guest/daughter room from the door.

Guest/daughter room from the window.

Guest/daughter room from the window.

Hallway to the guest/daughter room.

Hallway to the guest/daughter room.

I have also left you with a picture of the peppers that I picked this morning. The grasshoppers seem to think they are delicious. I am thinking about 10 hens next summer are going to keep all bugs out of our garden. We will have to see. The last picture is Tigee sleeping on her makeshift steps to my bed. Paulina and I believe that she is arthritic, and since She is about the same age as Paulina, that is not unusual.

The peppers, see the marks on two of them.

The peppers, see the marks on two of them.

Tigee on her steps.

Tigee on her steps.


Well, hope you have a great time this weekend. Catch you later.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Glenda
    Sep 03, 2013 @ 12:16:07

    One of those relatives is your aunt and she really appreciates them. They are delicious. Not like those waxy ones you buy in the store(if you can afford them!!)

    Like

    Reply

  2. Tammy
    Sep 01, 2013 @ 16:50:17

    Happy Labor day! What will you do with the peppers?

    Like

    Reply

  3. Kathy
    Sep 01, 2013 @ 12:35:57

    Happy Labor Day, Lucinda! I don’t want to talk much about our garden either. 🙂 However we did make some salsa yesterday. Welcome to September…

    Like

    Reply

  4. The Belmont Rooster
    Aug 31, 2013 @ 19:59:13

    Great post. I really like the hallway…

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

