Hot, hot, hotter

Foggy sunrise, Aug. 30, 2013.

Foggy sunrise, Aug. 30, 2013.

It is hot again today. The temperature according to the internet is only 88 degrees here, but it is stifling. It is supposed to get to 82 degrees on Sunday, which makes us all think that it will be a cooler day, but I know what it really means. Hot and humid and miserable. Again, the humidity makes you stick to everything. Right now I am so tired that my eyes are glazing shut. I just would like a nap, but we are stuck in James’ classroom waiting for the time to pass so that we can go eat then go to the football game.

Tonight the Linton-HMB Lions are playing the Mobridge-Pollock Tigers. It is always the first game of the season, and an interesting match up. It could be called a border war or something as neither team has dominated the contests with either one winning on any given year, and sometimes it happens on a last second play.

I should be working on the sermon for Sunday since I really won’t want to take time to do it tomorrow. Actually we should skip the game to go home and clean house and start canning tomatoes. Yikes, I forgot to go purchase more lids and rings. I will have plenty for Saturday, but afterwards I will be looking for rings for the regular jars. I was sort of hoping to do some dividing at my mother’s place, but that won’t be part of this weekend.

Anyway, as always there are some photos for you of the foggy morning we had again today. While we were sitting and waiting for Kathy to pick us up, I noticed a round “window” in our ash tree that opens up to the neighbor’s cotton wood. Also the sun was quite red as it came over the horizon through the mist this morning when we were driving to school. The shot I took is blurry because I took it while we were driving, but I didn’t care. I just wanted it to use for a future landscape. I really want to take some time for that again. Funny how the things you want to create are so much easier than the things you have to create, like sermons.

The window in the ash branches that look out at the cottonwood in the fog.

The window in the ash branches that look out at the cottonwood in the fog.

Our willow tree in the fog.

Our willow tree in the fog.

The yellow kalanchoe is doing well, even if I am killing off other plants.

The yellow kalanchoe is doing well, even if I am killing off other plants.

At any rate, hope you all have a great Labor Day weekend. You know that I will keep you posted on mine, even if you don’t want to know about it. Ha!!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. forestmtnhike
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 23:55:46

    Thanks for sharing the pictures of your day, especially of the morning fog. I love when it gets foggy out here but that won’t happen until late October/early November & I can’t wait until it does. There’s something enchanting about walking through a park or open fields in the fog. Have a nice Labor Day weekend! I’m not sure what I’m planning to do yet, I might just stay home and have a small bbq here. Blessings as you work on your sermon! Hugs, Rose

    Like

    Reply

  2. The Belmont Rooster
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 22:16:13

    It has been hot here, too. I looked at the thermometer twice and it said 97 both times. I believe it made it to 100. Supposed to be hot tomorrow and then cool off next week.

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

