Blog post 500; thank you readers!!

For those of you new to my blog, I will tell you now that I am a statistics freak, sort of. As a track coach, I love comparing times and distances for students and keeping track of their best efforts. As a blogger, I spend a bit too much time looking at views and daily averages and such. For now I don’t have that many likes or comments in a day, so I am still excited about each individual one, and I only have 110 followers, so I have at least checked on each of them. Also I try to keep who I follow to around 50, so I can keep track of who I am reading without using a chart or going back and reading about them.

Anyway, a few days ago, I received a notice that I had hit 500 posts. I was going to comment on that, but realized that 10 of those posts were reblogs, so technically this is my 500th writing, and 510 posts. I have only been blogging since September of 2011, so I really don’t think 500 is all that much, but…to put this into perspective. Before I was a blogger, I wrote a weekly column for our local newspaper. I did that from the end of October in 1999 until the middle of September of 2011. I did a count and subtraacted out the weeks that I didn’t write or wasn’t put in by the editor, and there were about 615 articles.

I keep wanting to go back and rework some of those articles into longer pieces and publish them in some form. Like my blog those pieces are a history of where I was and what I did, but they were also a family history, and more so a history of our community. I will see how the fall goes in terms of the garden and the substituting, but I can tell you that I will likely be digging in some old boxes in the basement, and if things go correctly, I will be starting another blog to post all of those old article. Come to think of it, I may have to head to that newspaper office to dig up the archives for the papers I am missing. Yikes, this could be a project.

Well, mostly I wanted to write this short post today to thank everyone who takes the time to read, like, comment and follow the drivel that I have been writing. As I mentioned in a comment earlier this month, I would love to be a writer of fiction and make characters come to life, but I just can’t bring myself to venture out on that ledge right now. Instead I just like to look at life and give you my version of what I see. I guess for now that is going to have to be enough. I suppose that is all you can expect from someone with a major in philosophy (technically religion/philosophy is one of my majors).

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Glenda
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 08:56:06

    You’re welcome! Keep up the good work!

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

