She’s moving and this time we don’t get to go with

Some items piled at the bottom of the steps.

Some items piled at the bottom of the steps.

The fridge in the car shed was open and dripping out.

The fridge in the car shed was open and dripping out.

A bag of shoes and a bag of books.

A bag of shoes and a bag of books.

Today I woke with Roger and Tigee on either side of me like guards. They didn’t want to get up and neither did I, but I wanted to leave this post before I leave the house. For me this is the day that all parents dread, but all parents work toward all of their lives. My youngest child is leaving home for college. She isn’t going very far away, just the community college some 100 miles up the road.

It isn’t far, but it is a milestone. It is one of those turning points in a book where you can’t go back. Yes you can move back home, but it isn’t the same kind of move back home. It is different independence and decision making. I have been watching her change, mostly in the past month and especially in the past week. She is still Paulina, but it is a different Paulina.

I kept myself from crying today by reciting: “This is the day which the Lord has made; we will rejoice and be glad in it.” Psalms 118:24

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. forestmtnhike
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:52:55

    Awww Lucinda, this is such a sweet post. I like how you wrote that you were reciting Psalms and I admire how you were staying strong through the day. My sister is facing the same thing with her daughter this month. I’ll be keeping you in prayer this week. May the Lord be your supply during this transitional time.

    Like

    Reply

    • lucindalines
      Aug 26, 2013 @ 14:58:20

      Thank you so much for that, and I will be thinking of your sister during my prayers.

      Like

      Reply

      • forestmtnhike
        Aug 31, 2013 @ 01:19:54

        Thank you Lucinda, and yes it would be nice if you can still keep her in prayer. I think she’s still having a difficult time adjusting to this change. This was her last baby going off to college, and now it’s just her and her husband. I know she’ll be fine but I’m sure prayers will help. Thanks again. Many hugs your way!

        Like

        Reply

  2. The Earth Mama
    Aug 25, 2013 @ 13:32:20

    I cried like a big baby when my son went off to college, congratulations on a job well done.

    Like

    Reply

    • lucindalines
      Aug 25, 2013 @ 20:40:20

      Thanks, not so sure why this is so much harder, I guess it is the proverbial other ticking clock. Now not only am I too old for more children, but I am finished raising mine. Well, supposedly, they seem to always hang out at the end of a phone.

      Like

      Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

