Blockhead killer part two

As long as I am on the issue of killing my plants and what a rotten gardener I am, I may as well go all the way down the path. I am having some issues with myself about the calla lily. We, as in my siblings and I, received this plant from a neighboring family at the time of our mother’s passing. It was one of the most beautiful plants at her funeral, and there were plenty of plants and bouquets. I know lots of people around here now say no flowers, give a donation to such and such, but we chose to let people show their appreciation of her life in whatever way they wanted to. Actually my mother and I would look at flowers at a funeral and note how well a person was loved by the number of items left in their memory. Anyway, I know this is sort of morbid, but I had to give you this background.

Calla lily is blooming.

Calla lily is blooming.

I was chosen to take this particular plant because, well I think it is because they believe that I am good at taking care of house plants. I wanted the plant because it was beautiful and because the oldest daughter of the family who gave it was a very good friend of mine in high school.

So recently it started to look yellow. This was at the same time that it started to bloom. It was parked in my bedroom and because we put that rice paper stuff on the windows of the west door, there is no more direct sun for the plant. As it sagged, I kept watering. Pretty soon I thought that I had over watered and under sunned, so I set it outside.

The three days it was outside included the 100 degree temperature. It was not in the direct sun, but it was hot, so I watered some more. Next I thought I saw aphids on it so I sprayed it down. Well, that sort of did the whole thing in, and this is what happened, and it kept getting worse.

The two plants after dividing.

The two plants after dividing.

Today I woke with the idea that I had to transplant it to get the roots out of all that water. As I pulled it out of the pot, I realized it is not one plant, but many, so I divided it hoping that one of the two lives through this ordeal. I also gave the leaves a shower to clear any chemical off from that aphid spray. If anyone has advice for me, I would love to hear it.

Below are a few more of my failures and actual success stories. Hope you have a great day in the garden, but notice I am hoping you have one not forcing you to. Ha!!

Yellow kalanchoe is thriving in this heat. Not so much for the pansies behind them.

Yellow kalanchoe is thriving in this heat. Not so much for the pansies behind them.

The Amaryllis seems to love being outside.

The amaryllis seems to love being outside.

I broke off a pepper stem, and it seems to be hanging in there.

I broke off a pepper stem, and it seems to be hanging in there.

The cosmos are starting to bloom as the day lilies are dying in the background.

The cosmos are starting to bloom as the day lilies are dying in the background. Roger is helping check out the plants.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jesshaak
    Aug 23, 2013 @ 13:56:37

    Did you ever tell the story about how your daughter had a spider plant near death, until she handed it over to you?

    Like

    Reply

  2. The Belmont Rooster
    Aug 23, 2013 @ 13:29:34

    Great post! I am sure you are no way close to being a Blockhead… Or Dr. Death… Calla Lillies should be fairly easy to grow. I not sure what state you live in, but they do grow well outside and can over winter in Zones 7 and above. In colder zones the bulbs should be lifted like a lot of other bulbs. They should do well even if they get hot as they are native to South Africa. Outside, in hotter climates, they grow well anywhere Hosta will grow (light shade). If grown inside, they should be given plenty of light like in a south or west situation. In Mississippi, mine stayed in the ground 12 months a year. About this time of the year, the leaves would start yellowing somewhat, but that was normal. They do like moist soil, but even so, it needs to be well draining. How long have you had this plant? Your Amaryllis looks very good and I grew them outside, too. If you want your to flower, it will have to go through dormacy. Has yours flowered before. If so, then I guess you know how to put into dormacy. If not, I can explain the ordeal if you like. My Amaryllis story is on the blog under BULBS. Sometimes it is frustrating when we have a plant we want to keep, because of a sentimental reason, turns out to be a nightmare. Many plants at florist shops can be tricky, and that’s where a lot of “funeral” plants come from.

    Like

    Reply

    • lucindalines
      Aug 23, 2013 @ 13:36:12

      I live in South Dakota not even bulbs that should be able to stay out make it some winters. I have had the calla lily for over two years. The Amaryllis is quite old so it has been in and out of dormancy and flowering. Thanks for all the tips and for stopping by.

      Like

      Reply

      • The Belmont Rooster
        Aug 23, 2013 @ 14:03:35

        Glad to hear that you have done well with the Amaryllis. I have been putting mine inside the closet to get it to go dormant and flower when I realized that the neighbor keeps hers outside… I wasn’t used to living in Mississippi. If your Calla Lily “dies” and the bulbs are still firm, you might allow them to go dormant for a while and replant them later to see if they come back up. We’ll just have to see what happens…

        Like

        Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

