You killed it you Blockhead!

I confess, I did it. I was telling myself next year, next year, and then I realized that the plants are in the garden now and nearly ready to be harvested, and this is no time to brush it aside and say next year. So, I got my butt off the proverbial couch and started watering. This all happened after reading a blog that I follow and finding out that what I thought was a scorched tomato was actually a blight on my tomato, and that the cause was stress from lack of watering. Yikes!!

You can see the blight on some of these tomatoes.

You can see the blight on some of these tomatoes.

I decided to confess to my crime and show you what happens to a beautiful garden when you sit and wait for rain and refuse to use water from the spigot because you don’t want to up the water bill. Really, I would give up a summer of work for $20. extra in a water bill. I should be smacked.

Peas dying on the fence. Actually they don't usually last this long.

Peas dying on the fence. Actually they don’t usually last this long.

The potatoes are drying up. Well, we are harvesting some rather nice ones.

The potatoes are drying up. Well, we are harvesting some rather nice ones.

The pumpkins are turning orange, way too early.

The pumpkins are turning orange, way too early.

The corn is drying up from the bottom.

The corn is drying up from the bottom.

The beets and carrots.

The beets and carrots.

Red cabbage, but not forming heads, so this may be a failed experiment.

Red cabbage, but not forming heads, so this may be a failed experiment.

The peppers are very nice. They actually get water since they are my favorites.

The peppers are very nice. They actually get water since they are my favorites.

I have been taking good care of the peppers and the yellow squash and it shows. In fact the tomatoes that are near the two of them are quite happy. I got myself so worked up that I even got all of the pigeon grass out of the carrots, and only uprooted one carrot in doing so.

Funny, I worked myself into such a tizzy that I think I will skip the Farmers’ Market tomorrow and work on preserving some of the harvest for ourselves. Next winter will be quite cold and tasteless if I don’t get something put away. I am beginning to think of the story of the grasshopper and the ant where the grasshopper plays around all summer while the ant is busy storing things away for the winter, well guess who lives and who starves.

A sign for keys.

A sign for keys.

Paulina's daisy.

Paulina’s daisy.

Finally, I will leave you with a couple of shots of some of Paulina’s work. Well, off for now. Hope you have a better day gardening than I did.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. jesshaak
    Aug 23, 2013 @ 13:47:13

    THAT’S where I get it from. I was refusing to water the lilac bushes in hopes of rain till alas I came home one day and Tony was watering for me. It doesn’t look too bad! You can still mend, otherwise how am I going to eat salsa? I’m willing to help pay for the extra water bill. đŸ™‚

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

