Evergreens

The heat broke today. It is still warm, but not as bad as the last couple of days. It was even tolerable when I had breakfast on the porch. We were hoping for rain last night, but glad that it didn’t storm, especially hail. As hot as it was, we could easily have had a shot of it.

Anyway, I realized the garden isn’t the only thing that needs watering when the rains don’t come. We have a row of evergreens on the south side of the yard, and I don’t always take as good care of them as I should. We planted them in honor of the trees we left behind in Jamestown. We had seven trees on each side of the drive way, and they were super nice when we left there. We used to take pictures of the girls beside them each year. Sometime I will find them and share, but today I don’t have the energy to start looking.

Today after I showered and watered the trees, Paulina took pictures for me. I held a 48 inch measuring stick beside them as she did. On the largest tree there are two shots, one indicates how tall that tree really is. Sadly these trees aren’t all the originals like the rows in Jamestown. It sort of explains why some are much taller than the others. I think the tall one is the only original. I am pretty sure that we got the first ones from Albertus (James’ father). The other fairly tall ones were from my mother when she ordered from the Arbor Day foundation, and the baby one came from some Arbor Day writing contest that I had my students do in Mobridge. The students all received trees for entering the contest, but not all of them would take their prize, so I ended up with them.

Tree on the west end of the row. I believe it is a blue spruce.

Tree on the west end of the row. I believe it is a blue spruce.

Tree two not so tall, but nice and full.

Tree two not so tall, but nice and full.

Tree three, a bit taller.

Tree three, this has two main trunks and so two tips.


Here is the largest of the trees.

Here is the largest of the trees.

Second picture of the largest tree, shows to be over 8 feet tall.

Second picture of the largest tree, shows to be over 8 feet tall.

Another fairly tall.

Another fairly tall.

The tiniest of the trees.

The tinyest of the trees.

The tree on the east end of the row.

The tree on the east end of the row.

Apples on the apple tree, finally.

Apples on the apple tree, finally.

The chokecherry trees on the east side of the evergreens. You can sort of see the whole row from here.

The chokecherry trees on the east side of the evergreens. You can sort of see the whole row from here.

I can’t wait to decorate those trees for Christmas this year. I have some ideas, but they will have to wait for now. Anyway, I best close up for now. Paulina and I have list upon list of work to do to get everything ready for her to leave on Sunday. She has the clothes all piled up in the northeast bedroom. Earlier today we located her bedding finally.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. patinaandcompany
    Aug 22, 2013 @ 17:55:17

    Lovely trees. I love your new header photo of the house, also. So relaxing-looking.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Glenda
    Aug 22, 2013 @ 17:30:20

    and what??? Her bedding and what? Not finishing this sentence is

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

