Hot day, summer we were in the city

The sunset in the west on Aug. 19, 2013

The sunset in the west on Aug. 19, 2013


A shot of the south eastern sky.

A shot of the south eastern sky.

A full moon rising.

A full moon rising.

Another shot of the new full moon.

Another shot of the new full moon.


One more moon shot.

One more moon shot.


We went to Bismarck today and met Victoria and Jaxon. She had to stop at social services to be finger printed to start an authorized, certified and federal food program day care. She said the paper work is endless, but the independence of a business and such should be worth the effort. She, and I might be taking some liberties in speaking for her (sorry Vic), acts as if this is not really what she wants to be doing because it isn’t a job based on a college degree and such, but I do believe it will be ok for now. We all know that her mother screwed up her life when she made her feel that nursing wasn’t a good career, sorry about that too, but I do think there is hope. This morning on the news there was a report that the average person switches jobs about seven times in their lives.

I remember the days when they harped that we had to pick a career choice wisely because we would be doing that for the rest of our lives. I also used to envy those teachers who stayed in one school their whole career. Now I realize how boring my life would have been if that would have been the case, how many fewer people I would have met along the way, and on and on. “Doesn’t anybody stay in one place anymore, it would be so fine to see your face at my door, but it doesn’t hurt to know that your so far away…” I am sure I messed up those lyrics a bit, but that is how it goes when your brain gets fried walking around one hot parking lot after another.

Paulina and I went together and then we stopped at BSC to pick up her books, or that was the main intention. As we went through Linton, we grabbed the mail there. We received the college bill without any financial aid. We have been fighting with them for a time now. I do remember going through some things with Jessica and Victoria when they went to Jamestown College, but not this type of delay. Well, today I got to play the mad mother card. I wasn’t obnoxious, but when the lady in financial aid asked if I had a question about the bill or the financial aid, I responded with a firm, Yes! She got the point.

It wouldn’t be an issue if we had not received a statement early in the process with a figure, then they backed off and said the papers were all messed up. We went through several computer issues to get things straight, even with Victoria’s expert help. Next we went to registration where they assured us everything would be fine. Next we looked at the file on-line and things were still a mess. Today seemed to be the magic day. I guess with the first day of school only seven days away it might be about time to get things in line. We will have to write a check to pay off some of it, but the majority is covered with loans she will have to figure out when she graduates. Yipee ha ha!!

Wow, I wasn’t going to mention any of this when I sat down, but after reading all the comments everyone left from the last two blogs, it just sort of spilled out. Thank you everyone for your great encouragement. This reminds me, today it seems that all of the clerks were having a contest on wishing everyone a great day. I made a joke of it saying that they were putting an awful burden on us by telling us to have a great day, now it seems we had to try. Anyway, the great part of my day came when I finally opened up the comments from all of you.

So, the real part of the title that I wanted to share was that the temperature gauge on the van on the way home said 97 degrees F. It was awful. I had brought Victoria a cooler full of produce to take back to her place. Paulina was sure the car would smell like silage by the time we finished shopping. I guess we have to put ice in the coolers next time. We picked up some frozen foods and dairy items. The turkey bacon was completely thawed when we got home. Now that was the Yikes.

I have a few pictures to share that I took when we finished with supper. To me these give you an idea of the heat. Well, maybe not so much, but look at them with the idea that it is sweltering. Have a good one.

Birds flying around in the heat.

Birds flying around in the heat.

This bird chose to sit on the wire rather than fly around in the heat.

This bird chose to sit on the wire rather than fly around in the heat.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Melissa
    Aug 19, 2013 @ 22:24:57

    I had a “wonderful” day in school, but the 93 degrees here was made bearable by the swimming pool after work.

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

