Sort of Silent Saturday

Moss roses in the tree stump.

Moss roses in the tree stump.

I was going to end my post with the picture above and the statement below, but I believe it makes more sense to start here. I need to do a shout out for a part of the flower garden that I keep forgetting. A few years ago we had to cut down a dead tree. I convinced my brother, Adam, to leave the stump so I could use it as a planter. For years I have been trying to figure out what to plant there. This year it finally worked out. Moss roses are perfect for the stump. The early rain that we had helped to get them established, and lately I have been remembering to care for them. Here they are with the antique corn cultivator in the background.

So unlike my intentions in the title, I just can’t do the quiet thing. It is getting hot today, so I picked a little, took a few pictures and got inside the house. I am thinking that the pool is calling my name when I have this posted, but I need to be careful since I burned my back pretty badly last week while working in the garden.

Shout out to the sisters. Adam has pretty well finished off the shingling. This was a job he would not have done for anyone else. We haven’t seen the bill yet, but glad it is finished, and know we have the cash in the bank. Note how he added the down spouts. Do NOT complain about the colors, we used up scraps. Some were his, some were mine, and thanks Victoria and Nate as some were theirs. This is one example of why not to throw anything away.

East side of the house, down spouts.

East side of the house, down spouts.

The shingles on the porches.

The shingles on the porches.

The west side of the house down spouts.

The west side of the house down spouts.

Here are the beets that I picked today. I decided to get all the large ones out of the way before the tomatoes start ripening. I was surprised to find that for now, I have picked everything that is of any size. Hopefully our watering the past few days will push the growing a bit. Anyway, that really large beet is 17 inches around at the largest point. James is afraid it will be woody, but I don’t think that will be a problem.

Line up, line up, biggest ones in the middle.

Line up, line up, biggest ones in the middle.

Big, I will show you big!

Big, I will show you big!

Finally, I will leave you with a picture of Tigee sleeping while standing up and contemplating something. I thought she was watching for the mole in the garden, but I was wrong. I will also leave you with something to contemplate, starting with a Psalm to read, if you are so inclined. Ii is in light of the prayer I posted a few days ago titled, “Misty Morning Musings” I believe Psalm 3 is a good piece of encouragement. I wish you all a wonderful weekend.

Tigee, if this were a video we might hear her snoring.

Tigee, if this were a video we might hear her snoring.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Adrienne Knoepfle Dupper
    Aug 19, 2013 @ 08:21:06

    I want a copy of the picture of Tiger, if you can send me a soft copy that would be great!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Garden Walk Garden Talk
    Aug 18, 2013 @ 19:12:55

    I picked carrots today, but those beets look good. Nothing better than fresh beets.

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

