First preserves and first potatoes

Peeled beets. I cannot bring myself to boil them in their skins then use the water in the brine. I peeled them first for cleanliness purposes.

Peeled beets. I cannot bring myself to boil them in their skins then use the water in the brine. I peeled them first for cleanliness purposes.

Boiled beets, cooling off before being cut up.

Boiled beets, cooling off before being cut up.

Seven pints in the canner just finished.

Seven pints in the canner just finished.


My sister's beet recipe that I used.

My sister’s beet recipe that I used.

The replacement beets and a yellow squash.

The replacement beets and a yellow squash.

The potato plant as Paulina is getting ready to dig.

The potato plant as Paulina is getting ready to dig.

Sophia was not interested in helping us dig the potatoes.

Sophia was not interested in helping us dig the potatoes.


A pail of new Yukon gold potatoes.

A pail of new Yukon gold potatoes.

Cleaned and scrubbed and ready for the pot.

Cleaned and scrubbed and ready for the pot.

The potatoes not used.

The potatoes not used.

Not much to say just some pictures to share. Yesterday I spent part of the day making pickled beets, then I went outside and picked more to do later. By the way, every recipe that I looked at wanted you to boil the beets then peel them. I just can’t do it that way.

Today Paulina and I cooked up a roast for supper. Now what roast is anything without fresh potatoes. So we headed to the garden to see what was under that potato patch. We dug two plants and found they are nearly ready, but could use a few more days of growing. At any rate, we had enough for tonight’s meal and some left for tomorrow or the next day. We also noticed the gopher hole inside the pumpkin patch. No wonder the cats are always hanging around the pumpkins. Here I thought they were practicing to be Linus on Halloween. Hope you had a good one and enjoy the photos.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Homegrown Preserves | Rye's HomeGrown CG
  2. The Belmont Rooster
    Aug 14, 2013 @ 23:43:05

    We have beets in our garden ready to be pickled, too. I need some that aren’t pickled to make Borsch again… It’s been several years since I made it… Yummy!

    Like

    Reply

    • lucindalines
      Aug 15, 2013 @ 08:42:15

      Sounds great. I didn’t used to like anything with beets. I think it is a taste we learn to like, or maybe it is just an age thing for me. I am finally old enough to like beets, though I don’t think I will get old enough for sauerkraut.

      Like

      Reply

  3. Cathy Laws
    Aug 14, 2013 @ 22:13:13

    Awesome!! Hoping to learn how to make preserves and canning methods next summer. but these pics look great!

    Like

    Reply

    • lucindalines
      Aug 15, 2013 @ 08:41:02

      Glad you liked them. I will be doing more as the season goes. I just need to make sure that I don’t take all the short cuts that I usually do. Food safety is something I need to be more aware of. Wishing you a great day!!

      Like

      Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

