Gardening: Good, bad and ugly

Paulina's coneflower shot.

Paulina’s coneflower shot.


I picked beans again today, but when I went to pick cucumbers, I realized how dry things were. I had to get to watering. It is easy to water the peppers, I just fill up their can. Last year I did that with the tomatoes too, but they are set too close this year and so it isn’t possible to get to all of them in that way. I guess they will just have to suffer for now. Anyway, as James and I were working on watering the cucumbers, we found smut in the corn on the tassels. Yikes. So, that is what made me think of the title. I have pictures to go with each of the adjectives in the title.

Good:

My salad had lettuce  and tomatoes from the garden.

My salad had lettuce and tomatoes from the garden.

There are a few really nice peppers on the plants.

There are a few really nice peppers on the plants.

Here is a shot of the largest pumpkin.

Here is a shot of the largest pumpkin.

The bad:

The peas are drying up.

The peas are drying up.

The cucumbers are dry and have weeds.

The cucumbers are dry and have weeds.

The cabbage looks great, but aren't forming heads.

The cabbage looks great, but aren’t forming heads.

The Ugly:

Smut on the corn tassels.

Smut on the corn tassels.

Weeds where the radishes were, also so bad in the carrots, but I can't pull them or the carrots come out.

Weeds where the radishes were, also so bad in the carrots, but I can’t pull them or the carrots come out.

Weeds in the iris bed. This needs to be dug up and replanted.

Weeds in the iris bed. This needs to be dug up and replanted.

Finally, I will leave you today with the cats. I missed posting animals yesterday, so I will count these three cats as two days worth of animals. I promise that I will do better tomorrow.

Tigee tries to get out as much as possible this summer. Here she started coming inside before I could get a good shot of her posing.

Tigee tries to get out as much as possible this summer. Here she started coming inside before I could get a good shot of her posing.

Sophia only comes inside to sleep.

Sophia only comes inside to sleep.

Roger loves boxes. I love how the printing seems to go along with her sleeping in the box.

Roger loves boxes. I love how the printing seems to go along with her sleeping in the box.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Garden Walk Garden Talk
    Aug 09, 2013 @ 00:08:38

    It has been dry here too. I have a cat named Frosty that looks just like Sophia.

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

