First Friday in August

Just before sunrise at 6 a.m.

Just before sunrise at 6 a.m.

This view shows the creek through the trees from the upper deck

This view shows the creek through the trees from the upper deck

The hollyhocks with Sophia getting a drink, sitting in middle of the plastic ducks.

The hollyhocks with Sophia getting a drink, sitting in middle of the plastic ducks.


Today is the first Friday in August, and the day before James’ birthday. He is now one number ahead of me until my birthday in August. We are heading to Bismarck to the Arts in the Park thing and some late summer shopping tomorrow. I think we are meeting Jessica and Victoria at some time. Adie and Steve have a foreign exchange student coming into the airport there tomorrow, so hopefully we can all meet for supper and meet her, too.

This morning I woke early for whatever reason. As I noticed the early morning light to the east from our bathroom window, I was bound to get a picture of it. Well the best video of the year would have been one of me trying to get the screen out of the window while holding on to it and taking the picture. For some reason, I couldn’t get the screen pulled into the house, so here I was holding the screen in one hand and the camera in the other trying to turn everything on, get the focus and not drop either the screen or the camera onto the sidewalk below.

Later when I had it all figured out, I went up on the balcony and grabbed a shot to the north and east. I was reminded that we can see the creek through the trees up there. I also let Sophia outside in the process and caught her taking a drink out of the pails in the water tank. By the way, the photo of Sophia will have to work as my animal photo for today, Ha! We can finally put the fountain together now that the dogs are gone. If we had done it sooner Audrey would have used it as her own personal bathtub. In fact she did take a dip in the other pool at least once a day when it was hot outside.

I spent the better part of this morning participating in the local Farmers’ Market. I had beans, yellow squash and house plants. I sold one bag of beans. By the way, I was selling for $.75 per pound and I had them in clean one pound bags. The man next to me was selling unwashed beans for $3.00 a pound. He sold out, you figure this one out. I did sell lots of plants, though and came home with $3.10 which included a tip from one lady who bought three plants for $.70 and gave me a dollar with a “keep the change.”

Anyway, now we have clean beans ready to pass on to the daughters if they are interested, plus we had one bag fried in butter for lunch today. Yummy!! Since then I have picked another pile of peas. James and Paulina picked a pile of cucumbers and I also got some basil leaves to use later. All in all a good produce day. Now if I can just get myself to do some real work around here, like maybe cleaning out the garage. Adam fixed the garage door openers and we can use it to store our vehicles, what a novel idea!!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Earth Mama
    Aug 08, 2013 @ 21:47:39

    Beautiful pictures. I like how the hollyhocks are pretty.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Glenda
    Aug 03, 2013 @ 09:18:05

    By-the-way, LuCinda, YOUR birthday is in April!!!!

    Like

    Reply

    • lucindalines
      Aug 03, 2013 @ 23:25:34

      Good Grief I had to reread this to figure out what you were talking about, I guess I was so busy typing August that I didn’t catch my mistake. James is one number ahead of me until April. Grr I hate mistakes.

      Like

      Reply

  3. Glenda
    Aug 03, 2013 @ 09:15:43

    I have 2 buyers for your beans and some cucumbers. Get them ready because I need them by tomorrow!! If they wouldn’t have to work on Fri., I’ll bet you’d sell out of whatever you have!! Happy Birthday, James!! May God bless you with many more!! And thanks again for helping Adam clean up my tree mess!!

    Like

    Reply

  4. Kat at travelgardeneat
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 13:52:08

    Beautiful sunrise!

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

