Garden update photos

Who makes someone get up this early? By 7 a.m. I was already home from taking James to Linton to catch a van load of coaches to the coaches clinic. Well if you want the real story it was me. I wouldn’t let him leave a car on the street for four days. The main thing is that on Friday Victoria needs to go to Bismarck, and James needs to come back. I wasn’t sure how he would get two cars back here since she is going to Jamestown with Nate after they sign papers on the Hebron house.

I am sitting on the porch and no one can see me as they walk by. I love it. It is fun to watch them check out the view and make comments, and they don’t know I am here because of the trees. Actually, I don’t hear many of the comments either, so the joke might just be on me. I will show you what they saw of my mom’s place today. There are patches of red on the ground because we had Steve spray down the weeds. The drive way doesn’t get enough action to keep them out without a bit of spray. The little, old-looking “barn” you see in the distance is the car shed that needs a paint job. I was thinking of getting at it this week, but I have decided to enjoy these few days left with Jaxon instead of driving myself crazy working on some project that could wait another month or two.

Mom's house view from my back door.

Mom’s house view from my back door.


After I got back home this morning, I fertilized the vegetable garden. It really needs a good weeding, but in some places, it is too late to pull the weeds because the plants will come with, namely the carrots. I also need to get some powder on the cabbage. I found a worm crawling on one today, and I have noticed that something is eating it. I am not interested in the extra insect protein in my salad down the road. I think that I will try the plain flour thing that I did last year on the tomatoes. It worked like a charm on them because the grasshoppers couldn’t get a foot hold because of the flour. Also their was no poison transferring into the plant.
Whole garden view. I had my coffee cup on the fence post while I watered.

Whole garden view. I had my coffee cup on the fence post while I watered.

You can see the lettuce is out of control and the beets need weeding and the cabbage is...

You can see the lettuce is out of control and the beets need weeding and the cabbage is…


Sadly while I was fertilizing and watering, I broke off a part of the only pepper plant that is producing at this time. I put some root hormone on it and stuck it in a pot. I don’t expect it to grow, but we will see what happens. I have also given you an update on Jaxon’s “Magic” bean plants. I may just have to send those with him to his new house. Other photos explained in their captions. I hear people in the house, so I will go now and see what they are up to. Happy gardening to you all!!

Broken piece of pepper plant.

Broken piece of pepper plant.

Northeast corner of the house. This is the garden I was going to fix first this year, and again it is last on the list. At least the new and transplanted hostas are still alive.

Northeast corner of the house. This is the garden I was going to fix first this year, and again it is last on the list. At least the new and transplanted hostas are still alive.

Jaxon's "Magic" beans.

Jaxon’s “Magic” beans.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. christinelaennec
    Jul 23, 2013 @ 15:53:30

    Your garden looks very beautiful! I like the idea of you eavesdropping on your porch in the early morning. Porches are a great invention, I wish we had them in Scotland.

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

