First signs of fruitfulness

My favorite part of flowers. Well, one of them.

My favorite part of flowers. Well, one of them.

Thanks to Paulina, I am able to share these photos of the first fruits of the garden. The SD card for the camera that I normally use (also Paulina’s) is full so I have been sort of at loose ends about getting any pictures for the blog. Today I had enough and decided to steal the use of her camera. Little did I know that she had the 300′ zoom lens on and that I had to nearly stand across the street to get the shot to focus. Oh well, it worked, even if I did almost trip on the swing set trying to back up.

I haven’t been much in the mood for writing. Ok, so I will confess, I found a new game online, and haven’t been able to do much else when I open the computer. The other thing is that I was feeling sort of boring. I know that I need to post something worthwhile, and I just haven’t been up to the work. I blame it on the heat and the actual physical labor that we have been doing around here. Since Victoria and Jaxon headed north to be with Nate and his family, and Paulina left for a few days of work in Wishek, James and I have been working on getting some things sorted out and rearranged around here.

Yesterday and today were the worst. I started on the kitchen yesterday when James was in school. It took me two hours, but the refrigerator is clean and the shelves are finally in a position that gives us the maximum use of space.

I also have a great tip for anyone who is interested. Because we garden lots and I can lots, we always seem to have glass jars in the fridge. I hate what those glass jars do to the glass shelves when people shove them around. Yesterday I had this epiphany and decided to try putting one of the plastic cutting mats that I bought at a Pampered Chef party a few years back on the shelf. It is like the perfect size, and the jars just slide anywhere you want. I may just buy another set to use in the fridge.

I also redid some of the drawers and now I should have quicker access to a few of my “tools” when I get back into canning season. When James got home he helped me transfer the left over jars of produce from last year into the lazy Susan. For some reason they fit better there, and it seems to be stronger than the pantry drawers. My last issue, which might take until tomorrow is to go through the spices and toss those without any flavor. I have already gone through some and down sized the two half jars into one full jar of some items.

Anyway, today was spent getting my mother’s house cleaned. Not sure what was wrong with me, but it took me longer than ever today. It must have been all the laundry. Later James insisted that I help him with the trim work at the trailer rental place. I had to hold up the cords of the campers while he mowed under them. He was insistent that we couldn’t wait until Victoria returned to get it finished. I was glad that I went. I had no idea there was so much Creeping Jenny and Russian thistle. After I started pulling the thistle, I really wished that I had taken the time to grab my leather gloves. Anyway, it is finished for another week, or so.

Now for the photos that I promised in the beginning. I am so excited. I had the first pea of the season. I didn’t pick it and take it inside to wash it, I just took it off and popped it in my mouth, man was it good. The rest are rather small, but I am guessing I will be out picking tomorrow. The beans are only blooming, but the yellow zucchini look like I might be munching on that next week. I am hoping that is also true for the cherry tomatoes. I didn’t get a shot of them, but the two plants I have are loaded. OK, enough… Here are the photos.

Peas on the fence ready to pick some.

Peas on the fence ready to pick some.

The plant I bought has three good sized peppers.

The plant I bought has three good sized peppers.

Tomatoes are on the plant.

Tomatoes are on the plant.

Yellow zuchinni

Yellow zuchinni


Red cabbage, if they survive we could have 30 heads.

Red cabbage, if they survive we could have 30 heads.


The hollyhocks are starting to bloom, too.

The hollyhocks are starting to bloom, too.

The lilies are blooming.

The lilies are blooming.

Only the sage and basil came up in the herb area. Wasted space.

Only the sage and basil came up in the herb area. Wasted space.

The lettuce just keeps coming back.

The lettuce just keeps coming back.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. christinelaennec
    Jul 17, 2013 @ 13:44:35

    Your garden is fantastic! I wish I could grow hollyhocks, but I’ve never managed to in Scotland. It sounds like you’ve been working hard for other people – I hope you’ve been able to take some time out for yourself!

    Like

    Reply

    • lucindalines
      Jul 17, 2013 @ 13:47:34

      I do take time for myself, just don’t always count it on my list of what I have done. I used to be really all about me, and I am trying hard to change that image. Thanks about the garden, it is really more therapy than work.

      Like

      Reply

  2. Cables and Colors
    Jul 13, 2013 @ 15:04:28

    Wow, your garden looks delicious. Such a wonderful time of year. Greetings from Minnesota. Judy

    Like

    Reply

  3. Glenda
    Jul 12, 2013 @ 17:35:03

    Your garden is beautiful!! I am going up there tonight and stealing all of your peas!! No, I promise I won’t. You certainly inherited your Grandma Lizzie’s green thumb!!

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

