After the storm and magic beans

Where do I start today? I have so much to tell that this could be three blogs. I think perhaps, I will let the photos do most of the telling. I will start with yesterday. It was very busy and not all what I had planned, but all things that needed doing. I did laundry then some tree trimming for Kathy as she was painting the foundation at Mom’s house. Looks nice, photo another day. As I was going in and out of the house, I realized the magic beans were up and I will post a photo so Jaxon can see them and know he has something to come back for. The story on those beans will have to come another day, too.

Magic beans.

Magic beans.

So after James came home, he and I ran a few errands including a trip to the dump ground with the branches from Mom’s place and Kathy’s place. I was finally starting to get hungry but decided to do some weeding before we had supper. I cleaned out most of the area between the beets and the carrots then cut another batch of lettuce. It seems every time I cut it comes back twice as thick. Yikes. After supper I dug the rhubarb and the strawberries out of the fridge and mixed up a batch of rather tart jelly. I now understand the sugar to fruit ratio should be 3/4 not 1/2. It does give a bit more of the rhubarb flavor and has a nice kick if you like that sort of thing.

Jelly cooking

Jelly cooking

Tall girls in the back, short ones up front.

Tall girls in the back, short ones up front.


So about the time that Paulina called to say she was coming home, the weather looked like their might be a bit of rain. Oh, one more garden thing, as we were weeding, James noted that the tomatoes are blooming and look so much better than the peppers. I think that I will check when I started the seedlings and note the peppers should be earlier next year, but the tomatoes are right on. I also fertilized with a tomato spike which really helped, but I had forgotten to give anything extra to the peppers. I went into the garage to my garden center and brought out the Epsom salt and gave each plant a bit thinking I would water this morning. Well a bit after 1 a.m., the rain came along with the lightning show and rumblings of thunder for about an hour. Here are some photos of the results.

The worst of the storm might not really be storm related. The good/working garage door broke during the night. Now I know why I heard that horrible thunder that made me jump in bed. It wasn’t thunder at all, it was the spring breaking and ripping the wires right out of the wall below my bed. (Our bedroom is over the garage.) This morning I woke to James calling me to get up to help him get the van out of the garage so he could leave for summer school. Now I am scared it will go down and kill something, so of all things, I have an old church bench holding it up. Help, we need a carpenter soon.

Yes that is a bench holding up the door.

Yes that is a bench holding up the door.


Welcome sign took a nap during the storm.

Welcome sign took a nap during the storm.


Wind knocked my little fence down.

Wind knocked my little fence down.


Corn laid over a bit, but it will come back with the sun.

Corn laid over a bit, but it will come back with the sun.


Potatoes also down some. This gives you a little idea of the current garden.

Potatoes also down some. This gives you a little idea of the current garden.


The dill is growing outside of the fence. I guess this is expansion.

The dill is growing outside of the fence. I guess this is expansion.


This pot tipped and spilled out.

This pot tipped and spilled out.

Tipped bush has new home, and pot has Christmas Cactus resident. Hope Vic likes it.

Tipped bush has new home, and pot has Christmas Cactus resident. Hope Vic likes it.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Garden Walk Garden Talk
    Jul 11, 2013 @ 22:31:31

    I am so surprised how big is your veggie garden. That is a lot of work. I just bought the first corn of the season here and it really was not very sweet. Looks to be a bad year for corn in WNY.

    Like

    Reply

    • lucindalines
      Jul 12, 2013 @ 15:54:42

      Yes it is quite huge we live on about 1/2 an acre, but the garden is on land I share with my sisters. As large as it is, I always feel like I run out of room. I guess that is what growing up on a farm does to you. Sorry about the corn. Ours is rather sparce this year, but we don’t really need more than we can eat.

      Like

      Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

