Lonely rain…

What a day! Last night was another 1 a.m. bed time as we didn’t get home from the fireworks at the Ryckmans until quite late, though we did leave before it ended. Child over load, but that is another story for a day when I can reflect on children as a group. This morning we were up at the butt crack of dawn to go to a Dr. appointment for James. He has been having knee troubles and so….

I was a crank again as we left. First I was upset about the early morning, which really shouldn’t have been a big deal, but the whole circumstances were wearing me out. I thought that I was going to drive until I got into the car and found James decided I was helpless and Paulina had to drive, really? We picked up Jessica and Raja the little dog in Sterling, Victoria was right behind us with the green neon and a cranky Jaxon.

The green neon has no air conditioning, so James didn’t understand why she hadn’t left at 6 a.m. to head for Medora. She was supposed to go today to stay with Nate and his family because his mother is coming from Montana with his sister. Aunt and cousin and also coming, so it will be a rather cramped house, but I am sure they will figure it out. Jaxon was not excited about the whole thing even though we kept telling him it would be so nice to see his other Grandma for a change. I think he realized the car trip was going to be hot.

Anyway, short version of Bismarck day. We went to Dr. James and I met Dr. James was sent to MRI, girls and I went shopping. Vic wanted to load on groceries, I needed laundry and cleaning stuff and as long as Vic is gone, I bought chips for the rest of us to gorge on. Jess mainly worried about Raja in the car, and we did take some turns staying in the car with the motor running and the air conditioning on. Jaxon wishes someone could have turned on air while they were driving.

We picked up James, made one more stop plus a fast food place to grab something for the road. I finally had the keys. Vic went west, and we went east. At Sterling we dropped off Jess and the dog and headed back to Herreid. We stopped in Linton to grab the mail. My Family Circle magazine came, and it has a big section on sending a child off to college. Does everyone need to remind me? There is a piece in there about reconnecting as a couple when the children are gone. Good grief! After today, I might connect a rolling pin to my husband.

I finally got my point across, I hope about the fact that he can take a little help from the rest of us for a bit until the knee is fixed. He is still running around trying to do everything for us. Like I can’t drive the van. Who in the heck drove me back and forth to Mobridge through the road construction and the blizzards. I also let him know that when someone is sick or injured they need to rest. He told the Dr. that he took a week off and it didn’t get better, he counts time like the Bible. His week was more like an hour or a half a day at the best.

Well the most work done today was when we got back to Herreid. Paulina and I unloaded, (of course James helped, we had to kick him out of the way to get him to rest) then hopped in the van to go do cat chores. Adie and Steve and Kathy are out of town, so we are sort of taking care of their cats, though as you know cats fend for themselves real well. We also did a house check for KALM, picked up the mail here and deposited some checks into the bank. All this in the rain.

I forgot to mention it rained from Linton to Herreid and what a nice rain here, just what the gardens needed. So, I will leave you with a sad picture of some lonely boots that are sitting beside Grandma waiting for a little boy to return. The others are just shots of the flowers enjoying the rain.

Lonely rain boots.

Lonely rain boots.

Terracotta animal pots enjoying the rain.

Terracotta animal pots enjoying the rain.

White petunias and spiders in swans drinking up the rain.

White petunias and spiders in swans drinking up the rain.

Rain puddles in the walk way.

Rain puddles in the walk way.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. patinaandcompany
    Jul 07, 2013 @ 20:40:20

    You definitely get lots of quality family time, though, and that is wonderful. Love the terra cotta animal planters!

    Like

    Reply

    • lucindalines
      Jul 08, 2013 @ 10:35:19

      Thanks, I got them in an auction sale and this is one of the first years they got to go out in the rain. I try to protect them incase of hail, someday I will learn to let go.

      Like

      Reply

  2. Glenda
    Jul 06, 2013 @ 09:32:40

    The rain was so welcomed and we are supposed to get more today. Thank God! I was ready to go back to AZ. so that the rain would start again. It seems like it only rains here when I am gone!!

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

