Thoughts of today…

There is a commercial I keep hearing on the radio that gives some advice. One of the things they say on it is never play leap frog with a unicorn. There are several others, but that is the one that strikes me as quite funny. I have a few thoughts of my own in terms of advice or just thoughts.

The first one that pops into my mind is from today when we were in Linton and had lunch at one of the “fast” food places. It is local and that is all I will say. I had a hamburger just because I didn’t know what to eat. I had this feeling that I should say make it well done, but then I thought about how upset my mother got with comments like that. She would mutter about knowing how to cook and hating those sort of orders. Well, I should have gone with my gut. One bite and all I saw was pink, pinker and a bit red. I realize that is how some people eat their steaks, but it is not good for burgers. I took it back and asked for it to be cooked more. They did, they were gracious, but my appetite was gone. Here is what I learned from it: You can eat anything if you put on enough mustard.

I would like to speak in my defense in how I acted when I took it back. I wanted to say something like I am not trying to make trouble or be rude (I was actually going to use the B word and say that was NOT my intent). Instead as I tried to talk to the lady by the till, who was actually ignoring me until the other woman pointed at me, I said, “I can’t eat this.” Her response was something about what was I allergic to. By that time I was super annoyed and I just shoved the burger at her and asked if she could cook it more.

My mother owned a Main Street café for many years, and before that my grandmother and her sister owned the café in that same place. Our family knows what it is like to cook. We know what it is like to be busy and have hungry customers. Heck my sister and my aunt then my sister and I owned one of those pull type campers as a food place. We understand cooking and working with customers. The last thing I want to be is a cranky customer. However, I know what it takes to do this successfully, and let me tell you listening to the customer is right at the top of the list.

James and Victoria ordered wraps. They picked wheat because it was on the sheet. When they received their order it was a sub sandwich. When James went to pay he told them of the error. They could have said something right away, but it took until after my burger was recooked for them to get their meals, so they just ate them because we didn’t want to wait any longer. Anyway, my third piece of advice is the quality of the service is only as good as the work put into it.

This leads me to the line my Aunt Glenda said tonight as she and I and my sister Melissa were enjoying coffee on my porch. She mentioned the 10 most important two letter words that she learned from a wise older man early in her teaching career. I think this is how it goes: If it is to be, it is to be me. Also leads me to the mantra my mother always said to me when I was young: Any job worth doing, is worth doing right. No wonder I don’t clean my house until I get out the tooth brush and do up the cracks. Honestly, I finally cleaned my bathroom today, and it sparkles, even the cracks. Ha!

Well, hope you all have a great July 4. I think I might. I won’t be doing any comments about freedom or independence or patriotism. I usually get into trouble anyway when I give my opinion on any of that. So I will just say I don’t know about any of that right now. I do know that the best gift I have had in a long time was given to me tonight by my three daughters. They hopped in the car with the Dalke cousins and Jaxon and went to the outdoor theater. It was refreshing to have adult conversation, however, I am looking forward to having family time all day tomorrow.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. theinboxjaunt
    Jul 05, 2013 @ 07:02:06

    I love your bits if advice. Worthy of mt bulletin board too. Happy fourth !

    Like

    Reply

  2. Glenda
    Jul 04, 2013 @ 07:56:05

    Happy 4th of July!! The exact quote that August Thorstenson told me was, “If it is to be, it is up to me”. I had that on my bulletin board the first day of school. It is so true. May your day be blessed with family, friends, food and fun.

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

