Garden Party

Daisies in front of the house on either side of the Welcome to My Garden sign.

Daisies in front of the house on either side of the Welcome to My Garden sign.

The birds welcome everyone to the garden.

The birds welcome everyone to the garden.


So, since I missed a day of blogging, I will do two today. And since I have a bunch of photos of the flower and vegetable garden for you, I am doing “Garden Party” by Ricky Nelson.

“I went to a garden party to reminisce with my old friends
A chance to share old memories and play our songs again
When I got to the garden party, they all knew my name
No one recognized me, I didn’t look the same

CHORUS
But it’s all right now, I learned my lesson well.
You see, ya can’t please everyone, so ya got to please yourself

People came from miles around, everyone was there
Yoko brought her walrus, there was magic in the air
‘n’ over in the corner, much to my surprise
Mr. Hughes hid in Dylan’s shoes wearing his disguise

CHORUS

lott-in-dah-dah-dah, lot-in-dah-dah-dah

Played them all the old songs, thought that’s why they came
No one heard the music, we didn’t look the same
I said hello to “Mary Lou”, she belongs to me
When I sang a song about a honky-tonk, it was time to leave.”

We had a rather long day today. I cleaned at my Mom’s house. The floors are clean, the beds are clean, the air conditioners are in, and on and on and on. Victoria even weeded the flower garden there and mowed the back yard and the north side of the north drive way. The neighbors have been mowing that for more years than I can count, so we will see how that all works.

After we were all finished with that, I dug around on the flowers, planted the last of the peppers, put spikes in the choke cherry trees and trimmed up the evergreen trees. I am tired and a bit sore, but it sure feels good to have all of it finished.

Tomato plants are in bloom.

Tomato plants are in bloom.

Zucchini plants are nearly blooming.

Zucchini plants are nearly blooming.


Chokecherry tree with the garden in the background.

Chokecherry tree with the garden in the background.


Peonies in the background of the hollyhocks.

Peonies in the background of the hollyhocks.

Cosmos and zinnias are coming finally.

Cosmos and zinnias are coming finally.

The planters of geraniums are starting to fill out.

The planters of geraniums are starting to fill out.

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

