Missed post/Silence

I guess I blew off my blogging challenge last night. I never had perfect attendance in school either. I usually had my mother’s attitude; get an absence for whatever reason and get it early enough that you won’t have any regrets later. Wow, think about that one. I always admired those who could maintain that attendance thing, so now you have a bit of an insight on this challenge thing.

I will start today with the song by Simon and Garfunkel, The Sounds of Silence.
“Hello darkness, my old friend
I’ve come to talk with you again
Because a vision softly creeping
Left its seeds while I was sleeping
And the vision that was planted in my brain
Still remains
Within the sound of silence

In restless dreams I walked alone
Narrow streets of cobblestone
‘Neath the halo of a street lamp
I turned my collar to the cold and damp
When my eyes were stabbed by the flash of a neon light
That split the night
And touched the sound of silence

And in the naked light I saw
Ten thousand people, maybe more
People talking without speaking
People hearing without listening
People writing songs that voices never share
And no one dared
Disturb the sound of silence

“Fools”, said I, “You do not know
Silence like a cancer grows
Hear my words that I might teach you
Take my arms that I might reach you”
But my words, like silent raindrops fell
And echoed
In the wells of silence

And the people bowed and prayed
To the neon god they made
And the sign flashed out its warning
In the words that it was forming
And the sign said, “The words of the prophets are written on the subway walls
And tenement halls”
And whispered in the sounds of silence.”

After the ball game last night I ended up in a funk. We were in Mobridge watching the daughters and sisters play softball. They won both games, but between trying to keep my chair in the shade and watching/listening to Jaxon and Carson to make sure they were ok, I was a bit distracted. Anyway, it was 10 p.m. before we left Mobridge and nearly 11 p.m. when we got home. I wasn’t too tired to blog, but I was just out of sorts. I guess I need to keep concentrating on getting this clutter put away and maybe life will fall into a routine. What a joke, the only routine that we have is a lack of one. Perhaps I need to make a list of what is done on each day.

I think life now and summers in general have been and are hard for me because after having been a teacher for so many years, it is hard to live without having a strict schedule. Schools are so different that a business work place. Life in most schools operates from bell to bell with no reasonable ability to put anything on hold. Oh well, not the topic today.

Silence like a cancer grows. Perhaps some of the recent political victories have me thinking of this song. If we are silent about our convictions the converse opinion will be allowed to flourish. Stand up for what you believe in. Fight for what you think is right. Support the cause that you want to see move forward. I keep preaching that, but do I ever get off my butt and do it. Thankfully I have a daughter who does those sort of things. I guess the best I can do is support her as she fights.

I will leave you today with a verse I found in my morning reading: I John 4: 19-21 “We love because he first loved us. Those who say, “I love God,” and hate their brothers or sisters are liars; for those who do not love a brother or sister whom they have seen, cannot love God whom they have not seen. The commandment we have from him is this: those who love God must love their brothers and sisters also.”

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jesshaak
    Jun 27, 2013 @ 13:35:44

    You being on the other end of that phone is helpful beyond words. And without a mother who was constantly involved in everything I wouldn’t be either. However, I would love it if maybe one day you were perhaps sitting next to me on the floor. OR if you ran in SD? You would bring experience and commonsense to the education perspective. If you don’t want to run we can always use help šŸ™‚ Also, aren’t you a writer? Letters to the Editor. AND remember in TX it was not legislators who protested for the last 15 minutes before the vote, it was the people.

    I can’t wait to see you and everyone during my time at home šŸ™‚ And you’re right perfect attendance is over rated. I know a few of my colleagues who had perfect attendance, and didn’t and I know way more about the bills we voted on then they do. Miss you and see you soon!

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

