Summer is officially here

I missed the midnight deadline to put out a post on June 21, the first day of summer. Although it isn’t the longest day of the year, my science teacher sister pointed out that all days are 24 hours, this one has more hours of daylight, and I should have been able to get more done. I can’t believe that I wasn’t paying attention to the time. I would like to put this post and the song I am using for June 21, the first day of summer. My song for today is by The Lovin Spoonful. The lyrics go as follows:
“Hot town, summer in the city
Back of my neck getting burnt and gritty
Been down, isn’t it a pity
Doesn’t seem to be a shadow in the city

All around, people looking half dead
Walking on the sidewalk, hotter than a match head

But at night it’s a different world
Go out and find a girl
Come-on come-on and dance all night
Despite the heat it’ll be alright

And babe, don’t you know it’s a pity
That the days can’t be like the nights
In the summer, in the city
In the summer, in the city

Cool town, evening in the city
Dressed so fine and looking so pretty
Cool cat, looking for a kitty
Gonna look in every corner of the city
Till I’m wheezing at the bus stop
Running up the stairs, gonna meet you on the rooftop

But at night it’s a different world
Go out and find a girl
Come-on come-on and dance all night
Despite the heat it’ll be alright

And babe, don’t you know it’s a pity
That the days can’t be like the nights
In the summer, in the city
In the summer, in the city.”

My reason for missing my deadline is that I was having a life. How many times have I heard students saying that to each other and to adults. “Get a life.” I spent the day trying to get my bathroom in order while getting ready for a rummage sale tomorrow. In the meantime, Paulina left for work in Wishek and Vic and James mowed the rest of the lawn at my mom’s place. Later after supper, Nate came. He hasn’t been able to get away from the Dickenson area since the state track meet, or was it the regional, I am not sure.

While Nate was eating his homemade pizza (Victoria made one for us and a smaller one for Nate) Vic went out for a run with the dogs. While she was running, Biscuit, the coon hound, was going after something, and Vic said Audrey was acting sort of strange in the way she was hanging close to her, almost protectively. As Vic watched she realized that there was an animal in the area. When she saw the white stripe on the black animal, she picked up the pace just a bit. It was the fastest she has run that course. Biscuit was sprayed partially, Audrey is fine, and Victoria had to hang her clothes on the line when she got them off.

So now you know our excitement for the day. The parts I left out should have been captured on video. I failed to mention that Victoria went through some old clothes and papers. She found an old pair of white, glitter-decorated cowboy boots which Jaxon claimed as his own. Nate is concerned about him walking around in them. She also found a Thomas the Tank Engine toy. We replaced the batteries in it, and Jaxon and grandpa had a major falling out over it about supper time. It was also quite entertaining to watch the marshmallow roasting and eating with Jaxon feeding Audrey and having Audrey lick off the sticky. Gag!!

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

