Good bye little green house

Paulina and Alex leaving the house to head for prom.

Paulina and Alex leaving the house to head for prom.


Next James put the tree together. Here he is consulting with Paulina about the lights.

Next James put the tree together. Here he is consulting with Paulina about the lights.


Sophia in her favorite spot.

Sophia in her favorite spot.


The house during a snowfall.

The house during a snowfall.


crazy hall wall paper

crazy hall wall paper


Row of irises in Linton.

Row of irises in Linton.


Today James and I went to Linton to load the last of the items in the house there and clean it. We reserved the carpet cleaner at the Hardware store, and after James was finished with his physical therapy, we got to work. I didn’t realize how much we had left behind. It wasn’t super bad, but James found the binoculars on the top shelf of the linen closet, and I didn’t even know they were there.

I spent most of my time cleaning the oven and the refrigerator. I did load the van and for my final job, I swept the car shed. It was sort of bittersweet today. I was so tired, and it was hot. I really didn’t want to be there doing it at all, but it had to be done. At the very end, as James was putting the last item into the van, I ran around and locked up the front door. The neighbors might have thought I was crazy if they heard me telling the house thanks for the good times we shared there.

Song for today is Mean by Taylor Swift, but sung by Danielle Bradbery to get onto The Voice. “Someday I’ll be living in a big old city and all you’ll ever be is mean.” Hats off to the 16-year-old who went after her dream and won it all. Perhaps that is part of what the American Dream has turned into, winning reality shows.

I was so tired the whole time we were in Linton in that house. I thought I would never be able to finish. I just felt like I was too heavy to move and just exhausted. I fell asleep as we were driving home, yes James drove. I was trying to knit and nearly fell asleep between stitches on a stocking cap. I finally woke up after supper when I went outside to finish the last of my planting. I planted two of the three packets of sunflower seeds that I bought. I hope they turn out as good as they promise.

The day ended pretty well as Victoria and Jaxon returned from Medora. It is amazing how much a three-year old changes in such a short time. He has found the best thing about being a kid in the summer; popsicles. The other part that was fun was the end of season four of The Voice. We were so excited to learn the winner. We would have been happy if either of Blake’s entries would have won, but seeing the 16-year-old win it all was pretty amazing. We have been watching The Voice for three seasons, and I finally realized tonight that there were only four seasons total.

Well, I think that I better go as I have fallen asleep four times already while I am trying to type this. Perhaps tomorrow will be a better day as I intend to spend some of it in the garden, and some of it sorting boxes and misc. items to find things for my sale on Saturday.

One last comment about the little green house. I guess a house is just a building. It is the people inside it and the things they do that make it a home and a family. Good-bye little green house; it was fun knowing you and great having you to go to. It seems like living there was sort of a vacation. We never really had that much to do except relax while we were there. I am starting to see that the only reason I am sad is because now I have to get back to work. Catch you tomorrow.

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

