Auction Sale

There is a song called the Auctioneer’s Song. It was recorded and made famous as a country song by Leroy Vandyke. It can be found on http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gblxAoWKsmE
I learned of it because it is sung and played at country dances in our area on occasion. I believe it was probably more popular a few years back, but I do know of at least one local auctioneer who is a pretty good singer, who has done his own version of it a time or two. Well anyway, that song would fit pretty well for today. James and I joined his sister Alvina to attend an auction sale for their uncle. This uncle married their mother’s sister and is the only survivor of that entire generation on that side of the family. His wife (Nettie) passed away last winter and was James’ last aunt on his mother’s side.

This might sound like it was a sad day, but instead it was just the opposite. It was a fun day with family. Four of James’ siblings were there as well as an in-law, so we had lots of fun together. There were also plenty of cousins and old friends, and mostly not a dull moment.

I, of course, love auction sales. I have gone to them since I was fairly young. My mother used to work for different auctioneers as a clerk or the person in the trailer who totals the amounts and collects the money. This was a great job for her because she liked the bargain boxes you could buy at those sales. For me and for her, I think that best part of the purchase would be the surprises in the bottom of the boxes. Getting the bid, then finding some neat item in the box that you didn’t know about is sort of like the rush of winning a small lottery. I think it is the hope of something really neat that keeps me going back for more.

My treasures. That sewing box is going to be the charm.

My treasures. That sewing box is going to be the charm.


Above I have a photo of some of what I purchased today, but not all of it. Together James and I spent $73.50. I obviously wasn’t counting so well since I thought that I was at about $50. Here is a list of the things we got: 2 Christmas decoration candles, a small white table, 2 small crocks, some solar lights for outside, a yellow sewing chair that can be filled with supplies, Christmas tins and candy plates, 2 plastic tractors for Jaxon, a small tin wash tub (now a planter) an old antique glass thing that we don’t know the purpose, 3 boxes of jars, a nativity scene and a large clay pot. One box also had some Home Interior wall hanging things, but I gave them to Alvina for being so generous with the space in her vehicle when we went home.
The homemade rake that I didn't get.

The homemade rake that I didn’t get.

I also have some crowd shots for you including a shot of the auctioneers. The older one is the owner of the company and is James’ first cousin. The younger one is someone we have known for years, and of all things today was his 32nd birthday, and one of the men there grabbed the microphone and led everyone in a short Happy Birthday to Casey.

Casey with the microphone.

Casey with the microphone.


All in all it was a great time.
Women checking on the trailers of household goods.

Women checking on the trailers of household goods.

The crowd in the distance.

The crowd in the distance.

Looking back towards the tractors.

Looking back towards the tractors.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathy
    Jun 16, 2013 @ 14:14:07

    I am enjoying listening to the auction song now. Can you imagine people singing or talking that fast? My dad used to enjoy going to auctions. Been thinking about my dad all day. Are you having a Father’s Day celebration?

    Like

    Reply

    • lucindalines
      Jun 16, 2013 @ 21:42:44

      Just a small thing, only one daughter here. Yes I can imagine people talking that fast, we have a whole lot of them in our area and several in the family. I wonder if it is linked to the cold winters. Ha!!

      Like

      Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

