Memories

Some time ago a fellow blogger nominated me for an award often bestowed upon newer blogs. I am going to answer her questions today for my post since I am sure most of you are sick of hearing about me being sick. By the way, I did go to the clinic today which turned out as expected. They gave me an antibiotic, didn’t draw blood or check if I had the enlarged spleen indicative of mono, told me which over the counter decongestant to buy. Oh yes, and told me to come back if I am not better in three or four days. Hello, I have waited a month to go in because I was trying to see if I would get better. I have dropped 10 pounds and can’t sleep, but I am exhausted. OK, I will stop complaining take this medicine and see if I get better, but you can be sure there is no way in *&&^ that I am going to pay another office visit so they can do the tests they skipped this time. I think it is time for a new clinic.

So now for the questions from the nomination.

1. Beef or chicken. I am a beef person, but what would you expect being raised in the Dakotas.
2. What is the thing that you’re the most proud of accomplishing? I think for me it would be easier to talk about what I wish I could change, but perhaps family is a good answer here and leave it at that.
3. Where’s the most interesting place you’ve ever visited, or the place you’d most like to visit? Washington D.C. We went there with the whole family for our 25th wedding anniversary. I can’t wait to go back when Jessica is working as a representative in one of the houses on Capitol Hill.
4. Do you cook? I cook, I can, I love making food from scratch, but it is lots of work.
5. What is your favorite thing you’ve ever written? I used to write a column “Lines from LuCinda” for a local paper, there were lots of pieces in that. One of the things that has been on my mind lots lately was the piece I did for the front page when there was a bad accident and the local sheriff died of a heart attack during the emergency attempt to save the young man in the accident. It was my last piece as an editor and the hardest thing I ever had to do.
6. Your very favorite pick-me-up song? This varies as the season goes. In high school it was anything by Karen Carpenter, in college we loved the sound track to Saturday night fever, now days I like Michael Buble and New Kids on the Block. I am old.
7. Do you opt for convenience or sustainability? Sustainability. I have even tried to have paper plates outlawed in the churches I attend. Washing dishes is not that tough if you work together.
8. What is one word that you always misspell? Almost everything and the shorter the word the most likely I do it. I was a high school English teacher for many years, so I depend on my vocabulary to give me a word that I can spell, also why do you think the put a spell checker on the computer?
9. What is your stance on raisins? Healthy treat.
10. Do you find spontaneity exciting or unsettling? Depends on the day. I do like things organized. You should see the boxes of track uniforms and how that are in order. It will be super easy to pass them out next spring.
11. What is your favorite beverage? Coffee is my drug of choice.
12. I am adding my own question to round this to a dozen. Mark is my favorite book of the Bible. I just love that gospel and how it is written. Makes me feel like I am standing on the edge of what happened like a fly on the wall sort of thing.

Well, song for today is…Memories as sung by Barbara Streisand also one of my favorite singers and actresses.
“Memories my be beautiful and yet, what’s to painful to remember, we simply chose to forget.” I seem to be waxing a little nostalgic lately. Part of my sleepless nights when I grab the iPad and play spider solitaire. Doing that occupies my hands, but leaves my mind to wander, I guess that is when I started thinking about old things I wrote and lots of other issues, what I have accomplished, what I never got to, but always wanted to, and now never will. I realize that I am not dead yet, but….

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tammy
    Jun 11, 2013 @ 08:16:30

    I wish you would share some of your lines from Lucinda columns.

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

