Sunshine on my shoulder…

John Denver had a song that I wore out on the old 8 track back in the 1970s.
“Sunshine on my shoulders makes me happy
Sunshine in my eyes can make me cry
Sunshine on the water looks so lovely
Sunshine almost always makes me high

If I had a day that I could give you
I’d give to you a day just like today
If I had a song that I could sing for you
I’d sing a song to make you feel this way

Sunshine on my shoulders makes me happy
Sunshine in my eyes can make me cry
Sunshine on the water looks so lovely
Sunshine almost always makes me high

If I had a tale that I could tell you
I’d tell a tale sure to make you smile
If I had a wish that I could wish for you
I’d make a wish for sunshine all the while

Sunshine on my shoulders makes me happy
Sunshine in my eyes can make me cry
Sunshine on the water looks so lovely
Sunshine almost always makes me high
Sunshine almost all the time makes me high
Sunshine almost always”
This song was written by John Denver and I liked the version on the Poems Prayers and Promises album. I went to two of Denver’s concerts. I was always a fan. I think of this song today because the sun really came out here in the Dakotas. There were a few clouds and it wasn’t super hot, but it was absolutely a beautiful day to be outside and enjoying the day. Sunshine like we still have today should be enough to make you high without anything extra.
The other reason that I am feeling better is that the Emmons County Farmers Union Day Camp is over. I don’t know quite why I fretted so much about it. I guess, I am just not all that excited about sitting down and doing curriculum over several hours. It seemed that they were all more than willing to do what they needed to do. They are really a great group to work with and I continue to be impressed by their leadership ability.
I guess, I don’t have much else to say. I am proud of the fact that the young people were willing to go out and walk door to door to get food items for the local food pantry. The youngest group also went to the assisted living area and dropped off some cookies and door signs that they made.
I need to give a shout out hurrah for my own family who really helped out. I bet they are happiest of all that this day is over so they don’t have to hear me yaking about this anymore. I will leave you with a few photos of the groups we had.

The primary group dropping off items as the assisted living. Jaxon is in the middle of the group. We couldn't hold him out.

The primary group dropping off items as the assisted living. Jaxon is in the middle of the group. We couldn’t hold him out.

The two older groups near the Food Pantry drop off. You get an idea of what they had to turn in.

The two older groups near the Food Pantry drop off. You get an idea of what they had to turn in.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. lucindalines
    Jun 07, 2013 @ 13:23:38

    Opps! This was supposed to be the post for June 6. I am still counting it. I guess that is why it looked funny when I thought that I hit publish!

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

