Rainy day in May, post graduation

Welcome neighbor, just what the people of Oklahoma need to see right now!!

Welcome neighbor, just what the people of Oklahoma need to see right now!!


It is raining again today. We shouldn’t complain. Before this batch of rain started, we had about seven wild fires in nine days in this area. I might be off on that statistic, but there were some days that the volunteer fire department here in Linton was called out twice in one day. It was crazy.
Water building up in the driveway behind our garage in Linton.

Water building up in the driveway behind our garage in Linton.


Blanket getting a rain water wash.

Blanket getting a rain water wash.


Parts of the state have water over the roads and so travel is limited in those areas. I hope that the company Nate works with has enough sense to slow down on the moves until it is a little safer. Yesterday they had their trenches filling with water so they couldn’t put the trailers of houses and offices in place. Instead of thinking that Vic was off my worry list when she got married, I just added Nate to her portion of the list, not to mention Jaxon.

Speaking of Jaxon it was heart breaking to leave Herreid last night. We took the left over paper supplies and some of the decorations back to Herreid because there is no room in Linton to store them. Anyway, he had a fit when we were leaving. “I go to grandma’s green house.” It is probably best that I am not around him how because who knows what sort of germ or virus I have. I swear if I don’t get better soon, they can call Larson’s (funeral home). I suppose that is not a good joke in light of the tornado damages in Oklahoma and all of the deaths there. It is an old family remark that when some one is really ill, we say they have the “Larson look.” Larson was the main funeral home in the area when we grew up and so…. I will try to hang on until Aunt Glenda gets home from AZ, but who knows. By the way, when are you coming back?

Of course the sinus thing could be allergy related. At this spring time of year, the musty smell from our basement takes over, and that really fills me up. Part of my push to get to Herreid for a few hours was to see if different air and atmosphere would help with the sinus issue. Not really any success, so it might be something more. Looking up from the computer I see a few cobwebs in the corners, can’t help that is for sure.

on a happier note, I have some photos to share of some of the flowers that are liking this weather. I forgot the camera yesterday, or I could have shown off my purple tulips in Herreid. Sadly only two of the hostas survived the planting that I mentioned a few posts ago. I think of the two blue berry bushes and two raspberry bushes only one blue berry has a chance. We may be looking up that slip and trying to get replacements. Of the five tires of strawberry plants three are coming back. I am looking forward to getting them in a permanent spot.

My orchid keeps growing a stem, but it hasn't bloomed in a bit.

My orchid keeps growing a stem, but it hasn’t bloomed in a bit.


All the irises in full bloom.

All the irises in full bloom.


Another graduation update. Paulina attended the after graduation finale and won an Ipad mini with a super neat keyboard. She is so excited. She also won a candle warmer and some other prizes. They apparently had a really good time. Her future roommate won a tv, and tried to trade with Paulina. Earlier when she opened all of her gifts there were two lap top carrying cases. They are really nice, so she looked at them and well, now she can use one for the lap top she will buy with the money she was given and the other will be for the ipad mini and also for books. She received mostly money, but also enough towels to get her through college and a really nice laundry basket from Aunt Marilyn. She also received pillows from Aunt Kathy, a cooler bag from a classmate as well as some blankets, picture frames and some display items. It was a good haul, all in all. Well this has gotten much longer than I intended so will shut down and try to do some healing.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. patinaandcompany
    May 26, 2013 @ 20:32:01

    Wow, sounds like you are really sick. I hope you’ve gotten through this by now. It has been such a miserable spring it is hard to keep the spirits up and stay healthy. Love the irises.

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!