Graduation Day…

Paulina with her cake. It was marble with whipped cream frosting, Oh it is good.

Paulina with her cake. It was marble with whipped cream frosting, Oh it is good.


Paulina with Mom and Dad before the ceremony. We weren't quite old yet on this one.

Paulina with Mom and Dad before the ceremony. We weren’t quite old yet on this one.

Well the big day finally came…then it went. In the morning James said, this day will pass, too. The old German-Russian saying always was, “this day, too, shall pass.” It was intended for use with struggles. In our case it was part of a happy thing. I should have cried. I expected to cry, but I couldn’t. My sinuses are so clogged that even thinking of crying stuffs me up. The stuffiness wouldn’t be so bad, but the sore throat is way worse. If I don’t start feeling better by Wednesday, I may actually have to break down and see a doctor. Yikes I must feel rotten.

Anyway, back to the graduation. It made me feel like the movie when Steve Martin said something to the effect of, “and the morning was a day, then the afternoon was another day, and now tonight is another day.” I know it was not exactly that, but it was something about a day dragging into a week. The past three days feel like it was a frikin month, but a good one it was.

Victoria commented on how solemn the ceremony was. It was until the speech by the two graduates who were talking about each of the classmates. The joke for Paulina was how she had so many relatives in school, in fact it seems that her family owns the track team. Ya well, maybe. Oh ya, I have one more track related picture to share. This is what the people saw in the track bulletin board as they walked into the gym today.

Qualifiers list.

Qualifiers list.

I woke up really early, but tried to sleep again, finally at 7:30 I tried to get up, and Paulina was already out of bed. She made eggs for breakfast and James did the bacon. I made the toast and coffee for myself. As I ate, I worked on the track ribbons and James got things ready to take to the community center.

By noon we had most of the things ready at the community center. We had the pulled pork in the roasters, and had picked up the buns and the cake. The coffee was ready to go and we even found all of the items for the relish tray. Jessica, Tony and Victoria and Jaxon along with Raja came to Linton with the rest of the items that we had called for over night.

Kathy was also on her way without cleaning at the Fischer house. The family that was staying there was to be out by 10:30 or so, but had decided to go to church and left all of their belongings and three dogs there. Yuck, I am not sure I am too excited about that. Anyway, I convinced her to skip the cleaning, come to graduation and do it later. When she did call later, she verified that we need to do a toilet repair. I swear it is just one thing after another.

So, back to the graduation again. I will give you some photos of the graduate and the family. I just wish that I had taken more pictures of some of the people who showed up. It was very nice to see the family that came, and also some of the friends for far away that took the time to attend. Probably the greatest surprise for me, was having Sharon and Myron Hehn show up. Sharon was our neighbor in Jamestown. She and her first husband Wally took care of Jessica and Victoria the night that Paulina was born. Their daughter, Threna, was the babysitter for those two when they were young. Here are the photos.

The class just before the ceremony started.

The class just before the ceremony started.


Paulina and Julie walking in

Paulina and Julie waling in


Paulina gave me a flower and a hug that told me how much she is my girl.

Paulina gave me a flower and a hug that told me how much she is my girl.


Hug with Dad!

Hug with Dad!


Paulina has her diploma.

Paulina has her diploma.


A few of the guest visiting at the reception. I forgot to take pictures until most of the people had left.

A few of the guest visiting at the reception. I forgot to take pictures until most of the people had left.


Paulina with her sisters.

Paulina with her sisters.


Jaxon talking with the graduate.

Jaxon talking with the graduate.


Paulina with the cousins.

Paulina with the cousins.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mtetar
    May 23, 2013 @ 00:00:15

    Congrats! Be Blessed, Mtetar

    Like

    Reply

  2. jesshaak
    May 20, 2013 @ 08:15:31

    It was such a fun day. I still can’t believe she is graduated. I remember thinking the day she started kindergarden that 2013 would never get here, and voila it’s here! Also, we need to do more family time stuff. I see more trips to Herreid in my future 🙂 Thanks for the great day and hospitality

    Like

    Reply

    • lucindalines
      May 20, 2013 @ 08:55:05

      Thanks for all of your help! We would never have gotten those tables covered without you and Tony, my brain was not working any more than my knees on Saturday night. I am so glad you were both there. Yes, we need more time together, our place in Herreid will be a great sanctuary for everyone this summer.

      Like

      Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

