Countdown to Graduation: Two days left

Iris in full bloom.

Iris in full bloom.


Row of irises in Linton.

Row of irises in Linton.

So this morning I want to sob. I woke feeling like I have been dragged around behind something and not on a sled. Everything hurts, my nose is so stuffed my ears are like cotton balls, and I don’t know where to start. As Paulina was getting ready to leave for her Senior breakfast and graduation practice, I was laying in bed trying to warm up (my ankles were like ice chunks). I called her to come to my room with the camera, and at first she didn’t understand me. I am sure I sounded like a frog croaking away. Fitting since all I ever get are frog statues and such. Anyway, I made her let me take a photo of her on her last day of school. She didn’t cooperate real well, so the picture looks silly, but maybe that was the best coping mechanism for me.

Paulina being silly.

Paulina being silly.

Paulina being somewhat serious, no smile today.???

Paulina being somewhat serious, no smile today.???

I am now officially old. I no longer have a child in school. My wrinkles aren’t laugh lines, they are crows feet. The circles under my eyes are, well we won’t go there. I better pull myself together and get to work. James was so freaked out about his regional entries that he went to school before 6:30 a.m. Just when I fell asleep again, he called and woke me asking for the best official times for all of our relays. After I found all of that and called him back, I tried to sleep again. Just about five minutes into the sleep, he called back to tell me that he had the wrong website for his entries and that is why it wasn’t sending for him, and he had to redo the whole thing. It is due by noon today, or they don’t compete.

This freaking out is a yearly thing. I have little patience for technology impaired teachers and coaches. I asked him if he really hates me because he won’t let me rest. Guess who stays up late to work the technology to get him the personal record information? Anyway, I will deal with him later. I think it is time to check on the bread machine or the washing machine. I don’t know what people did before we had push button work.

On a happier note, the irises that I planted beside our Linton house last year are now blooming. I think these look better than the old established bulbs in Herreid. This is what I got out of digging up one square foot of the bulbs where they were planted.

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

