Countdown to Graduation Five Days Left

Paulina gave me this garden decoration for Mother's Day. I have gotten so many frogs over the years, it is now a family joke.

Paulina gave me this garden decoration for Mother’s Day. I have gotten so many frogs over the years, it is now a family joke.


It occurred to me that there is less than a week left until Paulina graduates from high school, five days to be exact. In just five days there will be no more worry about tests or papers or worksheets or quizzes, at least not until she heads off to college. As much as college was difficult on its own, to me it was better because mostly the classes were what I chose to learn. I hope she will find the same.

One of Paulina's medals earned this year.

One of Paulina’s medals earned this year.

It is also a countdown to the end of the track season. Tomorrow (postponed from today) is the Last Chance meet in Hazen and on Saturday we have the Regional in Bismarck. Those are the last two meets that anyone can qualify for the State Meet on the following weekend. So far we have NO one from the team qualified. Usually you have someone by this time, but with the weather this year things are really strange for most teams.

My box of organized ribbons and medals to hand out.

My box of organized ribbons and medals to hand out.

I am disheartened because I feel that my portion of the team (mid-distance and distance runners) have gone backwards from the first meet. Not every one of my group has done that, but the majority has. I blame it on the intense meet schedule that didn’t allow us time to work between meets. We also took some in between days off because of the intense schedule. Add to that the fact that a sinus infection went through the group and you have a mess. I blame the illness on the first meet that was extremely cold, like 30 degrees farenheit. The last two races we let all of the athletes run in sweats because it was so cold.

Anyway, back to the graduation, with the track meet moved to Wednesday, it cuts me a day of items to get ready. James ordered the meat yesterday. The meat market here will do up the meat, cook it flavor it and put it in a roaster for us to pick up on Sunday at a specific time. I love that plan!! I will order the cake and the buns from the bakery today. I wanted to do it a month ago, but they said wait until the week of the graduation. Wild!

I am hoping that we can do the little mints tonight. My sister Kathy talked of doing it, but I know she has plenty to do, so maybe if we run to Herreid tonight, we can get that finished up and stick them in a freezer. We really do need to go to Herreid because I have plates and cups and plastic cutlery stored there, and I need a count to see what we need to add. I am also picking up the punch bowl. Paulina is afraid that will get broken, but we are using it. What good do things like that do you if they stay in the cup board forever.

Today, Paulina and I will go scope out the community center that we are using for the event. I have been in it for several events, but have never seriously looked at how we would want to set it up. I am so happy that it worked out for us to use that place. I can’t imaging having to clean out the garage here and try to find tables and chairs for everyone to sit if we hosted it at home. Well, I will quit for now, again leaving you with a few photos to update you on life around here.

Below is an update on some plants I am trying to grow and what I did for my daughter, Victoria on Mother’s Day. I was a mother and helped her with the blanket she was giving to her husband for his birthday, which was the next day. Jaxon spoiled the surprise. Apparently when Nate got home from work, Jaxon asked something to the effect of, “Papa did you get your blanket? Your birthday present one.” I guess at age three, he might not understand about surprises, but then again, I have a feeling he may just do what he wants most of his life.

Baby Christmas cactus and some fruit seed that I planted long ago.

Baby Christmas cactus and some fruit seed that I planted long ago.


First part of fleece blanket.

First part of fleece blanket.


Back of fleece blanket. This thing is about 9' by 7'. It must be monster sized.

Back of fleece blanket. This thing is about 9′ by 7′. It must be monster sized.


I actually started called Victoria Fiona when we were making it.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathy
    May 16, 2013 @ 15:19:43

    Remembering those busy days when the kids graduated and wondering how you can get so much done!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Glenda
    May 15, 2013 @ 16:09:43

    I’m sure “Shrek” loved the blanket from “Fiona” whether it was a surprise or not!! Any present that was homemade and given by your spouse is always special.

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

