Prom 2013

Paulina and Alex leaving the house.

Paulina and Alex leaving the house.

I can’t exactly sing the “It’s Raining on Prom Night…” song from Grease, but I couldn’t help thinking of it today as Paulina was getting ready for her Senior Prom. Today it hit me how much pressure and stress I put on Paulina. I need to step back and accept her for who she is and be happy about it. I guess I have done the same to the other two girls, but for some reason I believe they handled it better. Part of that might be because they had each other. Who knows. Anyway, I brought this up because when today was prom, Paulina had to go to a track meet in Eureka before we let her get ready. Yikes what terrible parents, and she did it because we expected it. In hindsight, I don’t know why we couldn’t just let it go. The meet was cold and windy and though she placed, life would have continued if she would have been allowed to skip the meet, and we all would have been better rested.

Anyway….thank goodness for Victoria who gave up this day when she could have been with Nate, or could have driven to Jamestown to pick up the mail and check on the house there. She did the nails and make up and helped get the dress on and all things ready. All I did was get the dress ironed and do a little reinforcement sewing including putting three beads back on that fell off when we tried the dress on. I have a few photos of the day. I just hope they load….

Alex helps tuck Paulina's dress into the car before they leave.

Alex helps tuck Paulina’s dress into the car before they leave.

Grand March

Grand March

Crazy version of Grand March

Crazy version of Grand March

Paulina and Jaxon

Paulina and Jaxon

Paulina, Victoria and Jaxon

Paulina, Victoria and Jaxon

Dad, Paulina and Mom

Dad, Paulina and Mom

Dad and Paulina being silly.

Dad and Paulina being silly.

The funniest part of the night was Jaxon’s reaction to Paulina’s leaving the house. When he saw her get in the car, he started to have a fit. When Alex got in the car and they drove away, Jaxon went off. He kept screaming “Peana, I sit in back, I sit in back.” It was absolutely hilarious. He was so upset he made himself rigid. It made me think of the 1920’s when they sent small children along on dates to chaperone.

Well, she just stopped at home to change clothes and go to a friend’s house to watch movies and hang out. How do I know it is the happy parent post prom fun? The parents are two teachers about as strict as they come. She almost didn’t want to go, this time I finally was unselfish and said, “Go, have fun, sleep tomorrow.”

Enough of this for now, I think I need a sandwich…or maybe some pop corn…Good night!!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathy
    May 13, 2013 @ 15:59:00

    Paulina looks wonderful! Like Kat, I agree, it’s good that you could trust the parents. I remember how challenging it was in the days when ours were teenagers…

    Like

    Reply

  2. Kat at travelgardeneat
    May 12, 2013 @ 10:48:14

    She looked beautiful — and good for you, knowing she was with parents you trust and being able to say “go have fun”! It is hard to let that rope out sometimes. Our prom was last night as well and snowflakes were flurrying earlier in the day still, but thankfully cleared up so we were able to do a few photos at one of the parents’ homes who have a beautiful view of Lake Superior off their deck. Special memories! Happy Mother’s Day, Lucinda.

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

