Donations

Shots of the hair I donated.

Shots of the hair I donated.

Recently our school had a blood drive, and one of the senior boys was basically bragging about being able to give blood (which is a good thing). Several of the high school boys were encouraged to make a double donation because their iron count was so high. I have always had low iron counts and so have never even tried to give blood. I often feel a little guilty about it, but this time I didn’t. On Sunday, when we were in Jamestown Paulina and Victoria arranged for me to have a hair cut. I very rarely have my hair cut, but the last four times that I did have it cut, I donated it. I actually have no more guilt about the blood. On Monday, I told the senior boy that he may donate blood and that is wonderful, but I donate hair, and not everyone does that either. Anyway, I thought that I would share a few photos. By the way the photos are compliments of Lindsey Maddock who cut my hair and took care of sending it off. I was her second donation on Sunday.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Garden Walk Garden Talk
    May 09, 2013 @ 18:01:52

    Your new hair cut is really cute. It was very nice of you to donate.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Glenda
    May 09, 2013 @ 16:20:49

    Just another thing to be thankful for!!

    Like

    Reply

  3. Glenda
    May 09, 2013 @ 16:19:43

    WOW!! I love it! And so will the one who gets the wig with your super healthy hair!! More people can give blood than can donate hair!! You are blessed!

    Like

    Reply

  4. vjstracener
    May 09, 2013 @ 10:43:49

    That is a great cause. The hair cut is cute!

    Like

    Reply

  5. christinelaennec
    May 09, 2013 @ 10:15:05

    That’s so interesting! I’ve never heard of that. Where does the hair get donated to? To make wigs for cancer patients? Or…? And I like your haircut! It suits you.

    Like

    Reply

    • lucindalines
      May 09, 2013 @ 23:53:11

      It goes to an organization called Lock of Love and it helps children who need wigs mostly for cancer. If they can’t use the hair for children they sell it to be used for adult wigs and use the money to help with other costs, or so I have been told.

      Like

      Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

