Thursday’s Thoughts

“Even if we didn’t make a rule about something, you still have to be fair.” taken from How to Eat Worms by Thomas Rockwell.

I was a substitute in Hazelton at the HMB school when I had to read the book mentioned above with a group of elementary students. I thought the line was amazing. I have decided for today to make a list of 10 things that are fair or unfair, and if unfair what turned out to be fair.

10. Unfair to fair: A.J. Clemente was fired from KFYR tv in Bismarck after some inappropriate words made their way onto the air. He was not cued nor did he have a clue that he was on the air when he spoke them. He was fired by the ultra-conservative station. The on air clip ended up going viral, and so he was invited to be on several national shows such as Today, David Letterman and Kelly and Michael. The latter sent him on an assignment to interview cast members of Love is All You Need at their big opening. I was just watching that clip. I would bet he gets a job with some other station soon.

9. Seems unfair: The weather this spring has taken away four track and field meets so far. The track is finally clear, but the infield is still really soggy. The, maybe not fair, but improved part is that today the sun has been shining since 8 a.m. and there is hope.

8. Seems unfair: Having stiff and sore muscles after a little shoveling yesterday. There was a large drift south of the crow’s nest. It was soggy and melting and the janitors took the top part off with the bobcat, but I used a rolling shovel to remove the remainder. The girls in my group helped a little, but I did the majority of it. The fair part is that if I worked like that everyday, I wouldn’t have sore muscles because I would be in better shape. Yikes when gardening starts.

7. Unfair: people being hurt in shootings and bombings. Fair part is all of the people who stepped up to help and save lives and be there for others.

6. Unfair: Legislators who pass out public money and end up using it in legal battles for rules that really might not have been needed then deny assistance to those who have real needs. (i.e. North Dakota setting aside money to fight off legal challenges to their over done (my opinion) abortion bills, and then deciding they can’t afford to provide money for pre-school education, regular education, infrastructure in middle of the oil boom area, and of all things no free milk to school children who are too poor to buy their own. But on the fair side, we are preventing public money from feeding or educating the children of drug abusers. At least this way we can save that money until later when we need to add on to the state prison AGAIN!!

On that note, I will leave. I would much rather listen to Michael Buble sing.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathy
    Apr 28, 2013 @ 11:24:33

    Smiling at the fair versus unfair assessments, Lucinda. Especially smiling that you stopped after #6. Hoping you’re not stiff and sore anymore!

    Like

    Reply

    • lucindalines
      May 07, 2013 @ 23:00:02

      I actually ran out of gas when I hit #6, that should have been my #1. That milk thing is really getting to me, but I guess nothing we can do except work to change leadership in the next election.

      Like

      Reply

  2. patinaandcompany
    Apr 25, 2013 @ 15:32:39

    Haha–I’m especially sympathetic to number 8.

    Like

    Reply

  3. vjstracener
    Apr 25, 2013 @ 12:44:22

    I really enjoy your blog so I am nominating you for the Liebster Award. You do not have to participate but I love the idea of sparking creativity in someone and you have certainly caused me to think in new ways. Thank you!

    Like

    Reply

  4. Glenda
    Apr 25, 2013 @ 10:58:10

    KFYR was definitely wrong in not giving A.J. another chance, but then again, he is going on to bigger and better things. Stick that in your ultra conservative throat, KFYR!!

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

