April between day

Today is really just another day in April, but if you look at the calendar, you see that today is somewhere between Earth Day, which was Monday, and Arbor Day, which will be on Friday. Now Arbor Day used to be a big deal in our life. When Jessica and Victoria were young and going to school in Montpelier there was a singular belief by the teachers that planting trees was important. They taught the students about the importance of planting trees, they planted trees in the school yard or around town, and they gave students trees to take home and plant. We actually tried to take one of those trees back to Herreid, but I planted it in Grandma’s yard and it didn’t get the attention that it needed and sadly it died.

Paulina got in on the Arbor Day stuff when she went to school in Pollock, and I even had my sixth graders participate in the essay writing contest in Mobridge. I think that I even ended up with a tree from that, but I am not sure if it is one of the evergreens we have growing in Herreid. I do know that most of those evergreens come from trees that I or my mother ordered through the Arbor Day Foundation. I am very excited about those trees this year because they are large enough now that when they double this year, as they do most years, they will really be large at the end of the season. I can’t wait to decorate them this Christmas, but I am getting ahead of myself in this story. By the way, the photo below is obviously from last fall.

Little trees all in a row.

Little trees all in a row.

So now that I have established which season it should be (I am guessing tree planting will be put on hold for a bit because of the weather and other activities), I will give you a bit of an update of what is really going on around here.

Yesterday I spent most of the afternoon counting and organizing the track team sweat suits that we ordered with the money we raised from the cookie dough and more fund-raiser. Our youngest members did such a great job that we had a little left over to purchase enough for the increase in team size that James is hoping for. Anyway check these out.

Boxes and boxes.

Boxes and boxes.

Sweat suit and bag.

Sweat suit and bag.

The other thing that has been keeping me busy is some knitting. I have been working on some black beanies. I found a pattern on line and have been trying some variations with it. I am so excited that I have actually figured out how to do the increase stitch. Sometimes no matter how well it is described in a book, you have to try it and figure it out on your own, well so to speak.

The book is called, Get Started Knitting: Learn Something New by DK

The book is called, Get Started Knitting: Learn Something New by DK

The beanie from the on-line pattern. I now have three more athletes who want one.

The beanie from the on-line pattern. I now have three more athletes who want one.

The beginning of the next beanie.

The beginning of the next beanie.

I also have a few plant things to show off. The tomatoes have taken off quite well. There are over 70 of them right now. The peppers are getting a start, but there are only about 30 of them at this time. I am excited at the way the Christmas Cactus are adding new growth. And I am hoping that the new kalanchoe can finally find its way onto the blog. So check these out.

Tomatoes

Tomatoes

Christmas Cactus with new growth.

Christmas Cactus with new growth.

Yellow kalanchoe

Yellow kalanchoe

Last but not least, what took up most of my morning was addressing envelopes. Paulina had been doing her own graduation cards, but when it came down to doing up the bulk of the addressing envelops, she said, “Mom!” She did make up the list and I only added two names to it. She picked which friends would get invites and James helped her with the family part. Anyway, I have a photo of her graduation card. She did these on-line, worked all the photos herself, and there were no professional photographers involved in taking any of these pictures, they were done by cousin, aunt and mom. We decided to splurge on the food at the reception instead of the pictures. You can tell where our priorities lie.

Graduation card front and back.

Graduation card front and back.

 

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathy
    Apr 28, 2013 @ 11:31:08

    I am wondering if people out on the Plains–or in areas without trees–celebrate Arbor Day more than those of us who live in the middle of trees…??

    Like

    Reply

  2. patinaandcompany
    Apr 25, 2013 @ 15:34:01

    You really are busy–as soon as I read “knitting” I just know I can’t keep up. That is my dream but it is that last thing I will ever find time for.

    Like

    Reply

  3. christinelaennec
    Apr 25, 2013 @ 15:17:42

    I miss Arbor Day. Planting trees is so important. There is a lot of planting going on in Britain, not just on one particular day.

    Your hats and graduation invitations look great!

    Like

    Reply

  4. vjstracener
    Apr 24, 2013 @ 11:30:29

    Arbor day is a fun day to sit down and watch the Lorax or read the book. I wish the weather would be sunny and warm here like it normally is. I would be able to tell it was spring then.

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

