Knit one, purl two

Actually the pattern is knit two, purl two through the end of the row. Start by casting on an even amount of stitches and have at it. So far I have completed two headbands and am started on two different scarves. Size 10 needles are my favorite, and I now remember how great it was to knit with the plastic ones. The rotten part is that I accidentally broke one of the four plastic double-pointed needles and now I can’t use them to knit in the round, which was the reason that I bought them.

Scarf for Paulina.

Scarf for Paulina.

Shows the two colors being worked at the same time.

Shows the two colors being worked at the same time.

Scarf for Elisabeth. I love this color pattern.

Scarf for Elisabeth. I love this color pattern.

I keep promising myself that as soon as these two scarves are finished, I will start something round just to learn how to do it. I have plenty of sets of double-pointed needles and circular needles, so something is bound to work. I just wish that I would learn enough to seriously read a pattern. I usually can sort of read it then by looking at the finished product, I come up with something to sort of kind of do something almost like it. No wonder nothing ever looks really professionally done. Yikes.

By the way, here are a couple of photos of the lasagna that Paulina and I made the other night. I was super excited. We made the noodles with the noodle maker. We also used sauce that was canned or frozen from our own tomatoes. It feels good to know where your food is grown and made. All I need for this noodle thing is a drying rack. I am pretty sure it will be my next purchase. All we need now is a back yard full of chickens and some wheat growing in the garden. HA Ha!!

Pan of lasagna.

Pan of lasagna.

Single bowl of the same.

Single bowl of the same.

 

I would like to give a shout out to Honey Boo Boo and all the ridiculous shows like that one. Last night after watching The Biggest Loser, Paulina and I decided we had enough of network TV. I handed the remote to her and let her pick the show. As you can see from the opening sentence, I ended up in my room reading. I think I fell asleep before the news was on at 10 p.m. It was great. I woke at 6:30 a.m. feeling fully rested. Perhaps I have found the cure for my ills, SLEEP!

I will be in school working every day this week and next Monday. So far the only other date I have tied up in Monday, Feb. 11, which is the day that the Farmers Union Youth Training in Bismarck has been set. It has only been postponed twice, so hopefully this one will happen without a hitch. I may even stop to visit the daughter, but who knows, it could end up being a quick trip if I get called into school that day. In looking back, February was my busiest month last year, not sure if I will be able to top January this year.

So here are the photos of the day. By the way, just a heads up, if the next time you check out the blog, it looks different. you are in the correct place, I am thinking about changing the background.

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

