January thaw is a somewhat lonely Monday

Today was a lonely day. Paulina headed back to college, and I was left alone with the animals. It was a beautiful day in terms of weather, and here are a few pictures of how some of the beasts enjoyed themselves. Well, only two Raja the dog and Roger the cat. Who names a dog Raja when her mother has a cat named Roger then leaves the dog for a week at a time, so that the two animals end up with a name complex? Jessica does that is who. I wonder how her day went, considering she is in the Tampa area for another day. Well, here are the pictures.

Raja checking out the old rocking chair.

Raja checking out the old rocking chair.

Roger caught rolling on the concrete.

Roger caught rolling on the concrete.

A few other shots of the great outdoors shows what a wonderful day of thawing it was. I guess that is why the weather channel kept saying January thaw. Boy, reminded me of the year in Eagle Butte when I was teaching PE and we were out on the track in shorts and t-shirts in January. We considered it sort of a banana belt year. I think that was like 1983 or 84.

James dumped the water bucket. It had frozen solid.

James dumped the water bucket. It had frozen solid.

The area around the shop that James did with the snow blower is nearly dry.

The area around the shop that James did with the snow blower is nearly dry.

The view from my mother's house.

The view from my mother’s house.

Some horses walked through the yard over the weekend, the sun is blurring the tracks.

Some horses walked through the yard over the weekend, the sun is blurring the tracks.

I was hoping to get to some cleaning today, but I didn’t feel much like doing anything. I waited for Paulina to call that she had made it to Bismarck then had lunch and caught up on my soap opera, The Young and the Restless. Victoria called later and it seems that Jaxon likes the day care place that they are thinking of having him attend. It would be more of a pre-school experience, so that would be good, but if you ask him anyplace with “friends” will be just fine with him.

Later as I was clearing out some clutter, I decided to put away the Nativity display. Before I realized what I was doing, I had taken everything out of the bottom of the hutch and was rearranging and deciding what stays and what moves. Mostly I kept everything and just relocated it, but I do have a better idea of where things are packed and tomorrow I have a head start on the next cleaning project. I am going to get things reorganized if it takes all year. I also marked some of the items as to who they belong to. Pretty soon they will be begging me not to give them their items. Ha!!

Well back to the couch and the TV and some of the works in progress. I have been having a hey day with those two knitting projects, the pink scarf and the tan and brown beanie. Maybe on Wednesday, I will have enough accomplished to give you a picture¬†update. I am also hoping to get to that fleece blanket tomorrow. I want to sew now that the machine is set up in the cabinet. Maybe….

Catch you later and stay warm, and if you are in North Dakota hang onto your hats. We are supposed to have a severe wind tonight, in fact they are warning about maybe NOT trying to pass a semi-trailer as the wind could blow it around and knock you off the road. Glad that I don’t have to go any place.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. AirportsMadeSimple
    Jan 13, 2014 @ 19:57:40

    Hi Lucinda! I found your site through the “Travel” search button. Man alive, it looks cold where you are! Whew! Well, it was a busy Monday for me–I have three (3) cats and one giant dog. They keep me busy. Oh, well, and my Life does, too, but I enjoy not talking about that unless it helps my blog. Ha – Anyway – it’s been a very cold winter. We have lost power at least three nights so far. I hope that you stay warm! Cheers, D

    Reply

  2. glenda zimmerman
    Jan 14, 2014 @ 12:01:20

    Johnny Carson would say, “It was so windy today!!” “How windy was it?” the audience would say. To which he would reply, “It was so windy I saw a chicken lay the same egg three times!!” Have a great day!!

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

The Ramblings of a Knitting Goddess

I knit. I laugh. I dream.

jonathan powers

lex orandi, lex credendi, lex vivendi.

LulaLizett

Life Lessons Learned, Stories Shared, Adventures Archived

I Love To Go A Gardening

Finding the Magic in an Everyday Yard

Garden

gardening

Advice From Nashville

A Hipster's Perspective

Heartmade

Crafts made from the heart

My Northern Cottage View

A crochet enthusiast's snippets from the Last Frontier

Cables and Colors

A blog for knitters

Garden of Eve

Growing my own, from garden to table.

The Earth Mama

The day and life of an Earth Mama

The Green Dragonfly

A site about creativity, crochet and fun crafts with children

woolhogs

colouring your world, one stitch at a time

Fort Pelham Farm

Old and new, a look at a 200 year old farm.

Buzy Day

The adventure of NikkiM

forestmtnhike

Living simple living life

It's not really about me...

...its about a creative journey of faith

Grassroots & Gardening

A passion for journalism and gardening

Writing from Scotland

by Christine Laennec

The Renegade Seamstress

Refashions Beyond My Wildest Seams

go go little red

Craftin' each day as if it's the last!

Belle Grove Plantation Bed and Breakfast

Birthplace of James Madison and Southern Plantation

InfiniteLoveCrafts

The love of all things Crafty

The Inbox Jaunt

Quilts. Photography. Family.

Travel. Garden. Eat.

Enjoy the good things in life ~ you can always clean tomorrow!

Kat's Crafty Creations

Taking some time to get a little crafty

Edge of the Arctic

Tales of a Yankee adventurer in Norway

The Sugarlump

A collection of the sweet morsels in my life

Seasweetie's Pages

One Woman On A Quest for Peace, Joy and the Write Words

Garden Walk Garden Talk

The Greater Garden of Nature

patinaandcompany

Design, Garden and Living

The Soulsby Farm

Sustainable Farming, Permaculture, Gardening and Homesteading in Ohio

SARAH THE GARDENER

Attempting to feed my family ~ with mixed results...

createityourself

A diversion from the monotony of life with a refreshing distraction of simple discovery and resourcefulness

Fiona Grows Food

Mucking around in my garden

Going Dutch

and loving it

So It Goes

North Dakota Representative District 12 thoughts and ramblings

Agrigirl's Blog

Life, leadership and community supported agriculture...

Lake Superior Spirit

Blogging from the Upper Peninsula North Woods...

booshy

"boo-she"

tom.basson

healthy (body+mind+spirit) = healthy soul

ndfutravels

Just another WordPress.com site

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 186 other followers

